NBI’s Distor, 8 officials get ‘Order of Lapu-Lapu’ award from Duterte

Published May 27, 2022, 5:25 PM

by Jeffrey Damicog

NBI Officer-in-Charge Director Eric B. Distor

For the first time since the creation of the National Bureau of Investigation (NBI) 85 years ago, Officer-in-Charge Director Eric B. Distor and eight officials of the agency have been conferred with the Order of Lapu-Lapu award by President Duterte.

In a statement issued on Friday, May 27, the NBI said the conferment of the award “could pave the way for others who are deserving of such honors for meritorious and exceptional accomplishments.”

It said the award was given by the President in Malacanang last Monday, May 23.

The other awardees were Assistant Director for Intelligence Service Roel S. Bolivar; NBI-Task Force Against Illegal Drugs (TFAID) Commander Jonathan V. Galicia; TFAID members Levi-Omar M. Orille and Gary Ibabao Meñez; Research and Analysis Division (RAD) Chief Oliver Baisa; and NBI chemists Angelica F. Wycoco, Miguel Fernando Suarez and Maynard Ramones.

The NBI said that under Executive Order No. 35, “the award of Order of Lapu-Lapu with the rank of Kamagi, shall be given to officials and personnel of the government, in recognition for their invaluable service in relation to campaign advocacy of the President.”

“The Order of Lapu-Lapu (Kamagi) was conferred by the President in ceremonies in Malacañan Palace on May 23, 2022 to the NBI officials led by Director Distor in recognition for the seizure of about 1.6 tons (shabu) worth P11 billion, which turned out to be the largest drug haul in the history of law enforcement in the Philippines,” it said.

The NBI noted that the operation also resulted in the arrest of 10 persons, all of whom were charged with violations of Section 5, Article II of Republic Act No. 9165, also known as the Comprehensive Dangerous Drugs Act of 2002.