3 new districts of Rizal to vote for representatives in 2022 polls, says Comelec

Published May 9, 2021, 2:38 PM

by Leslie Ann Aquino

The Commission on Elections (Comelec) said qualified voters of the province of Rizal will be able vote for the representatives of the newly formed legislative districts in the upcoming May 9, 2022 national and local Elections.


The poll body said under Republic Act No. 11533, the current second legislative district of Rizal will be reapportioned into three legislative districts, to be composed of the municipalities of Cardona, Baras, Tanay, Morong, Jala jala, Pililia and Teresa for the Second District; San Mateo for the Third District; and Rodriguez for the Fourth District.

“The law provides that the reapportionment will take effect in the 2022 NLE, hence the first regular elections for the district representatives of the new second, third and fourth districts of Rizal is on May 9, 2022,” Comelec said in a statement Saturday, May 8.

It added that the incumbent representative of the Second District, Rizal will serve in office until noon of June 30, 2022.

“Each new district of Rizal will have one representative in the House of Representatives, while Antipolo City will continue to have one representative for each of its two districts,” the Comelec said.

The poll body also said that the elective members of the Sangguniang Panlalawigan of Rizal and Antipolo City will be allocated by legislative districts: four for First District, Rizal; two for Second District, Rizal; one each for the Third and Fourth Districts of Rizal; and one each for the First and Second Districts of Antipolo City, citing their Resolution No. 10704.