46 towns, cities in Cebu sustain severe damage from El Niño

CEBU CITY – The extremely high heat index brought by the El Niño phenomenon has caused severe damage in 46 towns and cities in the province of Cebu.

El Nino.jpg

Data from the Provincial Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Office (PDRRMO) showed that 33 local government units are experiencing low to no water supply in different barangays.

Water rationing has been implemented in the affected areas.

In Badian town, the local disaster risk reduction and management office reported a decrease in 14 water resources.

Boljoon experienced a 60 percent reduction of water flow in the area while in Carcar City, 15 barangays were affected by water service interruption.

The PDRRMO said that the Can-asujan Dam is already on critical level while the town of Sogod reported a significant decrease in water output in three of its sources.

Other towns and cities that reported water shortages in some of its areas are Asturias, Balamban, Bantayan, Consolacion, Daanbantayan, Malabuyoc, Minglanilla, Moalboal, Mandaue, Poro, Pilar, San Francisco, Santander, Tudela, Ginatilan, Alcoy, Catmon, Talisay, Alegria, Alcantara, Bogo, Santa Fe, Oslob, Naga, Toledo, Dumanjug, Aloguinsan, and Medellin.

A decrease in crop production and damage to agriculture was also reported in at least 23 LGUs.

In Naga City, 50 percent of its high-value crops are reportedly affected while in Moalboal, 2,500 its banana trees have been damaged due to intense heat.

Dalaguete, considered as the vegetable basket of the province, has reported a significant decrease in vegetable production in its three barangays.

At least 12 LGUs also recorded various heat-related health incidents like skin rashes, heat strokes, and difficulty in breathing – Bantayan, Compostela, Minglanilla, Mandaue, Santander, Tabogon, Catmon, Alegria, Bogo, Dalaguete, and Toledo.

Asturias, Argao, Balamban, Borbon, Badian, Bantayan, Consolacion, Daanbantayan, Malabuyoc, Minglanilla, Moalboal, Poro, Tabogon, Ginatilan, Alegria, Pinamungajan, Alcantara, Dalaguete, San Fernando, Sibonga, Dumanjug, Liloan, Samboan, Cordova, and Barili and the cities of Mandaue, Toledo, Naga, Talisay, and Bogo have reported grass fire or rubbish fire incidents in some its areas.

Neil Sanches, chief of PDRRMO, said the affected LGUs have implemented initial intervention.

The provincial government will also come up with the needed intervention, said Sanches.

The provincial board on Monday, May 20, passed a resolution placing the province under a state of calamity.