11 communist rebels surrender in Central Luzon

CAMP Olivas, City of San Fernando, Pampanga – Eleven New People’s Army rebels surrendered to the government from May 1 to 14 in Central Luzon.  

Police Regional Office-3 chief Police Brig. Gen. Jose S. Hidalgo Jr. identified the surrenderers as Ka Gurang, Ka Leonila, Ka Lyn, Ka Ayana, Ka Alfred, Ka Vincent, Ka Rigor, Ka Datu, Ka Totoy, Ka Joy, and Ka Sirveng.

Hidalgo, who welcomed their surrender, said they turned over guns, bullets, and explosives.

He urged remaining NPA members in the region to lay down their arms and take advantage of government benefits.

"The Philippine National Police and the Armed Forces of the Philippines continue to encourage all remaining supporters of the Communist Party of the Philippines-New People’s Army to return to the government fold and unite for a terrorism-free nation."