2023 Ramon Magsaysay Awardees to be announced on Aug. 31

The recipients of this year's Ramon Magsaysay Awards will be revealed on Aug. 31, coinciding with the birth anniversary of the Philippine President after whom Asia's premier prize and highest honor is named.


Courtesy of RMAF


"August 31 holds immense importance for the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation, being the birth anniversary of President Ramon Magsaysay, one of the most outstanding global leaders of his time," said Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation (RMAF) Chairman Aurelio R. Montinola III.

To mark this significant occasion, Montinola announced that the Foundation will globally announce this year's recipients of the Ramon Magsaysay Award on Aug. 31 at 11 a.m. (Philippine Time), through a live stream on the Ramon Magsaysay Award’s Facebook page and YouTube channel.

Montinola emphasized that this year, "we take pride in recognizing the four Magsaysay Awardees who courageously address challenges, employing empathy and a solution-oriented approach to bring about transformative change in their communities."

The Ramon Magsaysay Award, now in its 65th year, is regarded as Asia's premier prize and highest honor. The award aims to highlight "more stories of transformative leadership and the greatness of spirit across Asia."

"While defining greatness of spirit can be subjective, the Board of Trustees has observed it through the works of our Magsaysay Laureates from 1958 to the present. These laureates have demonstrated the same greatness of spirit that President Ramon Magsaysay embodied throughout his life," noted the RMAF.

"From visionaries and innovators to pioneers, artists, humanitarians, and peace-builders, this year's 65th batch of Awardees is no different. We believe that these four individuals share an unwavering courage and compassion for the common man, values we have championed since then," added the RMAF.

Montinola pointed out that Asia grapples with "numerous daunting social issues on a daily basis." He noted, "Yet amidst these seemingly insurmountable challenges, we have witnessed individuals who share the same vision with the Foundation."

The Ramon Magsaysay Award has previously been bestowed upon outstanding Asian leaders, including His Holiness the Dalai Lama, Akira Kurosawa, Muhammad Yunus, Ela Bhatt, and Sir Fazle Abed, who have subsequently become global icons after receiving the Award.


65th RMA Festival Season

The 65th Ramon Magsaysay Awards Festival Season is set to begin with the announcement of the 2023 Ramon Magsaysay Awardees on Aug. 31.

The Festival Season will spotlight the significant and extraordinary impact of the works of the 2023 Ramon Magsaysay Awardees on the global stage.

"This year holds special significance as the Foundation celebrates its 65th Anniversary," said RMAF President Susanna B. Afan.

"The Foundation's theme, 'Transforming Asia, Inspiring the World,' embodies our commitment to sharing remarkable stories of global leadership that align with our aspiration to continuously transform Asia and inspire the world," she added.

Afan highlighted that the "key visual captures the essence of our roots and draws inspiration" from the prestigious Ramon Magsaysay Award medallion. She noted that the semi-circles "symbolize the ever-evolving transformative impact that our Magsaysay Awardees represent."

She also mentioned that the gradient strokes of the semi-circle symbolize the "dynamic nature" of society.

"Despite these constant changes, the Ramon Magsaysay Award remains steadfast in its mission to honor progress through its Magsaysay Laureates," Afan said.

"We believe that the work of this year's four Magsaysay Awardees serves as a call of hope and inspiration for all of us – a reminder that kindness and selfless service can transform lives for the better," she added.

The Season will conclude on Nov. 11 with the formal Presentation Ceremonies scheduled to be held at the Metropolitan Theater in Manila, Philippines, followed by the launch of the book "Greatness of Spirit" on Nov. 12.