New Binibining Pilipinas 2023 queens crowned


At a glance

    The new queens of Binibining Pilipinas 2023. From left: Katrina Anne Johnson, 1st runner-up; Angelica Lopez, Binibnining Pilipinas International 2023; Anna Valencia Lakrini, Binibining Pilipinas Globe 2023; and Atasha Reign Parani, 2nd runner-up. (Facebook)

    Angelica Lopez, a 22-year-old model and psychology student from the province of Palawan, was crowned Binibining Pilipinas International 2023 during the grand coronation night held at the SMART Araneta Coliseum last Sunday, May 29.

    Lopez shared the stage with the newly-proclaimed Binibining Pilipinas Globe 2023  Anna Valencia Lakrini, a 25-year-old nutritional scientist representing Bataan. It is their second time joining national pageants.

    Named first runner-up was Katrina Anne Johnson, a licensed pharmacist from Davao del Sur while the 2nd runner-up is  Atasha Reign Parani, an ABS-CBN artist representing Gen. Trias, Cavite.

    Angelica, who placed in the Top 16 in another national pageant in 2022, wowed the crowd with her flawless pasarela and stage projection. During the question and answer portion, she was asked by Manila Mayor Honey Lacuna-Pangan the question: " What makes you a Binibini who walks the talk and who is beyond mere self-promotion?"

    Binibini 6, Angelica, replied: "I stand here tonight because it is my mother who instilled in me the values and morals that I am using to be the woman that I am now today – a woman who has the strength, courage, and tenacity. The strength to decide for herself, what she wants, really works hard to achieve it, to have the courage to face any obstacles in life and tenacity to hold onto her wisdom of choice. I believe it is always a dream come true to be here. That is why I am a Binibini that I’ve always been meant to be."

    Mayor Lacuna-Pangan was also assigned to ask Anna, Binibini 24, the following question: "In what ways is a beauty pageant candidate aiming for a crown similar to a politician running for an electoral post?"

    Anna, who placed in the Top 12 in Bb. Pilipinas 2022, replied: "As someone who’s joining for the second time, I know that a beauty pageant has a platform on which we can talk about causes which are dear to our heart. My cause that is dear to my heart is nutrition. As a nutrition scientist, as an advocate for proper nutrition, I know that in advocating with this platform from Binibining Pilipinas, we can inspire so many people. A politician can inspire a whole community, and so can we."

    During the ceremony, Anna also won two major special awards: Best in Swimsuit and JAG Denim Queen.

    Trisha Martinez, a dentist from Laguna won Binibining Ever Bilena 2023, Binibining Philippine Airlines 2023 and Best in Evening Gown.

    The other special awards were given to the following::

    Manila Bulletin Readers' Choice 2023 - Sharmaine Magdasoc (Pasig) 

    Binibining Pizza Hut 2023 – April Barro (Cagayan de Oro)

    Binibining Bingo Plus 2023 – Loraine Jara (Bulacan)

    Best in National Costume – Jeanne Bilasano (Albay)

    Binibining Friendship – Mary Chiles Balana (Hermosa, Bataan)

    Best in Talent – Candy Vollinger (Catanduanes)

    Face of Binibini – Julia Mendoza (Roxas City)

    Star-studded production

    The Bb. Pilipinas 2023 Coronation Night was an entertainment treat all throughout, with a star-studded cast - not only in terms of the performers and the hosts, but also the board of judges headed by the Manila Mayor.

    Among the judges were internationally-acclaimed actress Dolly De Leon, movie actor Piolo Pascual, Josh Cullen of SB 19, social media personality Small Laude, presidential son William Vincent Marcos and Olympic gold medalist Hidilyn Diaz. Completing the line-up are Philippine Tatler editor-in-chief Anton San Diego and Wolfgang's Steakhouse owner Wolfgang Zwiener.

    Miss International 2022 from Germany, Jasmin Selberg, was also a judge and crowned Angelica, together with Bb. Pilipinas International 2022 Nicole Borromeo.

    Event hosts were Miss Universe 2018 Catriona Gray, Miss Universe Philippines 2014 MJ Lastimosa, and Bb. Pilipinas Grand International 2016 Nicole Cordoves.

    Performers were  singer-dancer Darren Espanto and P-pop group Alamat. "Unkabogable Star" Vice Ganda was the highlight of the pageant's swimsuit portion as she sang her latest single "Rampa" wearing a glittery swimsuit attire.

    Vice said she specially wrote "Rampa" for Bb. Pilipinas but expressed hopes that it will also be the anthem of other beauty pageants.

    Top 11 finalists

    The Top 11 finalists were announced after this year's 40 Bb. Pilipinas candidates made their introductions. It is supposed to be Top 10 but the 11th finalist was chosen by the pageant's co-presenter Bingo Plus. The 11 candidates then paraded in their swimwear and evening gowns.

    The 11 finalists are:

    • Lea Macapagal (Bataan)
    • Trisha Martinez (Laguna)
    • Katrina Johnson (Davao del Sur)
    • Chiles Balana (Bataan)
    • Anna Lakrini (Bataan)
    • Jessilen Salvador (Aklan)
    • Kiaragiel Gregorio (Nueva Ecija)
    • Angelica Lopez (Palawan)
    • Atasha Reign Parani (General Trias, Cavite)
    • Jeanne Isabelle Bilasano (Albay)
    • Loraine Jara (Bulacan)