'Unacceptable': Barbers shares blood-soaked list of 25 LGU execs slain from 2016-2022

Surigao del Norte 2nd district Rep. Robert Ace Barbers shared to House reporters on Sunday, March 5 a list of 25 local officials--mostly mayors--who have been killed between 2016 and 2022.


Barbers did this perhaps to illustrate the gravity of the situation wherein elected officials of local government units (LGUs) have been falling left and right in mostly unsolved killings. And these incidents have spilled over to 2023.

"The recent acts of violence--that resulted to the loss of Negros Oriental Governor Roel Degamo and Aparri Cagayan Vice Mayor Rommel Alameda, and the wounding of Lanao del Sur Governor Mamintal Adiong Jr. and Datu Montawal Maguindanao del Sur Mayor Ohto Montawal–are deeply saddening," the veteran solon said in a statement.

"While it is painful to bear this recent surge of violence, we should not forget all other public officials who became victims of violence while holding office in the past," he said.

Barbers then provided the following names of slain officials and the month and year that their respective killings took place:

1. Pamplona Vice Mayor Aaron Sampaga – August 2016
2. Datu Saudi Ampatuan Vice Mayor Anwar Sindatok  – November 2016
3. Pantar, Lanao del Norte Mayor Mohammad Exchan Limbona – December 2016
4. Marcos, Ilocos Norte Mayor Arsenio Agustin – June 2017
5. Bien Unido, Bohol Mayor Gisela Bendong-Boniel – June 2017
6. Balete, Batangas Mayor Leovino Hidalgo – June 2017
7. Roxas, Oriental Mindoro Vice Mayor Jackson Cinco Dy – September 2017
8. Ronda, Cebu Vice Mayor Jonah John Ungab – February 2018
9. Buenavista Mayor Ronald Lowell Tirol – May 2018
10. Tanuan City Mayor Antonio Halili – July 2018
11. General Tinio Mayor Ferdinand Bote – July 2018
12. Trece Martires Vice Mayor Alex Lubigan – July 2018
13. Sapa Sapa Vice Mayor Al Rashid Mohammad Ali – July 2018
14. Ronda Mayor Mariano Blanco III                       – September 2018
15. Supiden Mayor Alexander Buquing                   – October 2018
16. Balaoan Vice Mayor Al-fred Concepcion – November 2018
17. San Andres Vice Mayor Sergio “Popoy” Emprese– August 2019
18. Batuan Vice Mayor Charlie Yuson – October 2019
19. Clarin Mayor David Navarro – October 2019
20. Los Baños Mayor Caesar Perez – December 2020
21. Libungan, North Cotabato Mayor Christopher Cuan – January 2021
22. Mabuhay Vice Mayor Restituto Calonge – February 2021
23. Calbayog City Mayor Ronaldo Aquino – March 2021
24. Al-Barka, Basilan Mayor Darussalam Lajid – December 2021
25. Lopez Jaena Mayor Michael Gutierrez – December 2021

"All these incidents are not only a tragic reflection of political violence, but they are also unacceptable in our decent and God-fearing society. They do not only rob our country of dedicated public servants, but they also undermine the stability and security of our society," Barbers said.

He then urged authorities to "spare no effort in investigating these crimes and bringing the perpetrators to justice".

"The rule of law must be upheld, and those who commit violent acts must be held accountable for their actions," he said.