Maynilad spending P3.2 B to expand in Cavite

West Zone concessionaire Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) is investing around P3.2 billion to build four modular treatment plants (ModTP) primarily to serve its customers in Cavite.

In a statement, the utility said the four ModTPs—located in the cities of Bacoor and Imus in Cavite province will have a combined water output of 47 million liters per day (MLD). This volume is enough to supply the daily needs of some 200,000 customers in the area.

Maynilad to invest ₱3.2B for 47-MLD modular treatment plants in Cavite

Maynilad’s P3.2-billion investment will also cover the cost of pipelines that will distribute the treated water to nearby areas.

Targeted for completion between 2023 and 2024, these new facilities will use Ultrafiltration and Reverse Osmosis technology to treat raw water from nearby dams and rivers.

The Bacoor City ModTPs will be drawing water from the Molino and Ligas Dams that are fed by the Zapote River. Meanwhile, the ModTPs in Imus City will source water from the nearby Julian and Imus rivers.

Maynilad COO Randolph T. Estrellado

“Cavite is the farthest point of our concession area, so there are portions that do not yet receive 24-hour water supply,” said Maynilad Chief Operating Officer Randolph T. Estrellado.

He added that, “The new ModTPs will draw water from adjacent dams, and serve as a dedicated supply source that can lengthen supply availability for these underserved areas.”

ModTPs are among the small-scale treatment plants that form part of Maynilad’s service enhancement program, which aims to address water security challenges.

Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base.

It is the concessionaire of the Metropolitan Waterworks and Sewerage System (MWSS) for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (certain portions), Quezon City (certain portions), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite Province.