Find out Lakas-CMD's new set of officers

The Speaker Martin Romualdez-led Lakas Christian Muslim Democrats (Lakas-CMD)--the majority party in the House of Representatives--has elected its new national officers and members of its executive committee (execom) and national advisory council (NAC).

(Mannix Dalipe's Facebook)

In a statement Sunday, Feb. 5, Romualdez said the installation of the new Lakas-CMD leaders “will strengthen and reinvigorate our party in support of the administration of President Ferdinand Marcos Jr. and his Agenda for Prosperity and socio-economic roadmap.”

“We hope to further grow our membership with new recruits who share our ideals, programs and goals, and aspirations for our people and our nation,” said the Leyte 1st district congressman.

During the party elections held Friday, Jan. 3, Romualdez reassumed his post as the Lakas-CMD president, while Vice President Sara Duterte reassumed the role of party chairperson.

Elected with Romualdez and Duterte were former president-turned Senior Deputy Speaker Gloria Macapagal Arroyo of Pampanga's 2nd district as chairperson emeritus, former Speaker Jose de Venecia Jr. as co-chairperson emeritus, Senator Ramon "Bong" Revilla Jr. as co-chairperson, Capiz Governor Fredenil Castro as vice chairperson, and House Majority Leader and Zamboanga 2nd City Rep. Manuel Jose "Mannix" Dalipe as executive vice president.

The other officers are Reps. Jose Aquino ll of Agusan del Norte's 1st district as secretary general, Samantha Santos of North Cotabato's 3rd district as deputy secretary general, and David Suarez of Quezon's 2nd district as treasurer, and others, including regional leaders.

The above-named officers were also chosen as members of the NAC.

Composing the rest of the NAC are former congressmenJuan Miguel Arroyo, Diosdado Ignacio Arroyo, Lourdes Arroyo, Prospero Pichay Jr. Wilter Wee Palma, Aleta Suarez, Hector Sanchez, Paz Radaza, Leonardo Babasa Jr., Anthony Peter Crisologo, Mari Grace Preciosa Castelo, and Sandra Eriguel.

Former executive secretary Eduardo Ermita, former secretaries Gabriel Claudio and Nasser Pangandaman Sr., and agriculture undersecretary Zamzamin Pamintuan also have seats in the NAC, which was former by the party “to support the executive committee.”


The election is contained in Resolution No. 1, series of 2023. It was approved by party members and confirmed by Romualdez and Duterte.

Lakas-CMD now counts 68 House members, aside from hundreds of governors, city and town mayors, provincial board and city and municipal council members, and other local officials.