Lakas-CMD members in House climb to 70; find out the latest recruits

South Cotabato 2nd district Rep. Peter Miguel and Laguna 2nd district Rep. Ruth Mariano-Hernandez.

From left to right: Zamboanga City 2nd district Rep. Mannix Dalipe, House Speaker Martin Romualdez, South Cotabato 2nd district Rep. Peter Miguel, and Laguna 2nd district Rep. Ruth Mariano-Hernandez (Speaker’s office)

These two were the latest members of the House of Representatives to join the fold of the Lakas-Christian Muslim Democrats (Lakas-CMD), which is already the dominant political party in the lower chamber.

House Speaker and Leyte 1st district Rep. Martin Romualdez, Lakas-CMD president, administered the oath the two solons on Tuesday, Feb. 21.

"It’s a great honor and pleasure to have all of you today (Tuesdsy) and it’s an auspicious day because you have joined Lakas-CMD. We thank you for coming and I am here personally to assure you that you have joined the right party," Romualdez told the newly-minted Lakas-CMD members.

Miguel and Mariano-Hernandez are the 69th and 70th House members, respectively, to join the party.

The House of Representatives currently has 312 members.

Other local government officials were also sworn in by Romualdez Tuesday. They are Ilocos Sur Vice Governor Ryan Luis Singson; Biñan City Mayor Walfredo Dimaguila Jr.; Vice Mayor Angelo Alonte; and Councilors Libunero Alatiit, Jayson Souza, Elmario Dimaranan, Flaviano Pecaa, Jr., Elvis Bedia, Rommel Dicdican, Jonalina Reyes, Christopher Alba, Rafael Cardeño Jr., Alvin Garcia, and Victor Cariño of Biñan City.

Mayors Jose Paolo Teves III of Baras, Juan Rodulfo of Bato, Odilon Pascua of Bagamanoc, Glenda Aguilar of Caramoan, Vicente Tayam Jr. of Gigmoto, and Cesar Robles of Panganiban, all from the province of Catanduanes, were also officially made members of Lakas-CMD.

Non-incumbent local officials Cora June Lagasca-Solano, Aristeo Ragay, Allan Valenzuela, Cristobal Notado Jr., Inocasio Noora, Dave Peñaflor, Milany Ragay, Jaime Cacatian, Roslin Oro, and Menardo Olivan, all from San Fernando, Camarines Sur, also took their oath as party stalwarts.