Manila gov't reminds public of voter registration deadline

The local government of the City of Manila reminded the public on Friday, Jan. 27, that the deadline for the new and transfer registration for Barangay and Sangguniang Kabataan Elections will be on Tuesday, Jan. 31.

The city government said it set up six registration booths for city's six districts, including SM City Manila for District 1, Lucky Chinatown for District 2, SM City San Lazaro for District 3, SM City Manila for District 4, Robinsons Place Manila for District 5, and Robinsons Otis for District 6.

It said that walk-ins are allowed in the booths, but there will be a cut-off point in accepting applicants once full capacity is reached.

The local government also urges the public to utilize scannable QR codes of fill-up forms posted on its Facebook page and to bring own ballpoint pens for faster transaction.

Registration is open from Monday to Saturday, including holidays, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Health protocols such as wearing of face mask and social distancing are still implemented, the city government advised.