Senate adopts resolution commending TOWNS 2022 awardees

The Senate has adopted a resolution commending the awardees of The Outstanding Women in the Nation’s Service (TOWNS) for the year 2022.

Sen. Sonny Angara sponsors a resolution recognizing the contribution of The Outstanding Women in the Nation’s Service (TOWNS) 2022 awardees to nation-building during the plenary session Monday, January 23, 2023. (Senate PRIB Photo)

Senate Adopted Resolution No. 39 introduced by Sen. Sonny Angara was unanimously adopted by the Senate, taking into consideration SRNs 250, 252, 283, and 312 recognizing the TOWNS 2022 awardees, who were chosen out of 70 nominees across the country.

Napakainam po na sa unang araw ng muling pagbubukas ng sesyon sa Senado, nakapaglaan tayo ng kaunting oras para kilalanin ang mga babaeng karapat-dapat parangalan (It's great that on the first day of the reopening session in the Senate, we were able to take some time to recognize the women who deserve to be honored),” Angara said during his sponsorship speech on Monday, January 23.

“Pahapyaw man lang po natin binanggit ang kanilang mga nagawa at tagumpay para sa ikabubuti ng ating bansa. Kaya sana sa ating munting talumpati, maudyok ang sambayanan na lalung kilalanin ang labing-isang babae na binanggit ko at alamin ang kani- kanilang mga kwento (We even casually mention their achievements and successes for the good of our country. So hopefully with our little speech, the people will be motivated to get to know the eleven women I mentioned and learn their stories),” Angara said.

The TOWNS awardees were: Ani Rosa Almario (Education and Entrepreneurship), Rubilen Amit (Sports), Dr. Pia D. Bagamasbad (Molecular Biology), Dr. Beverly Lorraine Ho (Medicine & Public Health), Dr. Erika Fille Legara (Data Science), Keisha Alena Mayuga (Transport Planning), Ana Patricia Non (Community Service), Anna Rosario Oposa (Marine Ecology Conservation), Patricia Marie Ranada (Investigative Journalism), Georgina Romero (Women Empowerment Through Information and Communications Technology), and Dr. Aletta T. Yñiguez (Marine Science).

“I hope they (TOWNS awardees) will serve as true inspiration to everyone to use their talents and skills in uplifting the lives of our fellow Filipinos and for nation-building,” Angara said in Filipino.

All senators were made co-sponsor of the adopted resolution.

The TOWNS award is given to Filipino women age 21 to 50 who have shown outstanding dedication, exceptional talent, and careers that have contributed in a positive way to society.

TOWNS Foundation Inc. is a national organization of dynamic and effective women who have been helping transform the lives of the Filipinos.

In her co-sponsorship speech, Hontiveros commended the awardees in the field of journalism, medicine, and science and technology as well as women environmentalists, entrepreneurs and community leaders who have served as the light during the dark times of the pandemic.

“They showed us that we do not need to ask to make space at the table for women. They have claimed these spaces and they claim them for all women,” Hontiveros stressed.

Sen. Pia Cayetano, for her part, expressed certainty that women achievers are role models not just to young girls, but to young boys, as well.

“Aside from inspiring little girls, they are also inspiring the future of boys who mingle with ...little girls. These boys will understand that women equally hold the fort, that women are equal partners,” Cayetano said.

“In fact, in many instances, and many of my dear (male) colleagues here will admit, that their partner is the 'better' partner: running the household, taking care of the children, and also working in whatever career they have. That is the truth, your honor,” she further pointed out.