CAAP turns over management of 6 Mindanao airports to BARMM

The Civil Aviation Authority of the Philippines (CAAP) has turned over the management of six airports in Mindanao to the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM).

The move was part of the agreement signed last year that led to the creation of the BARMM Ministry of Transportation and Communications (MOTC).

The airports are the Awang Airport in Maguindanao del Norte; Wao and Malabang Airports in Lanao del Sur; Sanga-Sanga Airport and Mapun Airstrip in Tawi-Tawi; and the Jolo Airport in Sulu.

The turn over authorizes the BARMM MOTC to begin the land side management of the airport.

This will include the operation and management of the airport's passenger terminal building (PTB), administrative building and vehicle parking area,.

The CAAP, on the other hand, will retain the air side (air traffic control tower, air navigation equipment and facilities) management and control at the airport.