Pangasinan temporarily blocks poultry from 17 provinces to prevent bird flu

LINGAYEN, Pangasinan – The provincial government has imposed a temporary total ban on the entry of poultry to this province from Feb. 2 to March 2 to prevent bird flu.

The Provincial Veterinary Office released Executive Order No. 0005-2023 signed by Gov. Ramon Guico III on Thursday, Feb. 2, which barred the entry of ducks, quails, spent hens (culled), hatching eggs, pigeons, game fowls, and ready to lay pullet from 17 provinces.

These provinces are Bulacan, Pampanga, Nueva Ecija, Tarlac, Laguna, Sultan Kudarat, Benguet, North Cotabato, South Cotabato, Maguindanao, Isabela, Rizal, Quezon, Kalinga, Aurora, Ilocos Norte, and Ilocos Sur.

Guico said Pangasinan has no reported cases of avian influenza, subtype H5N1at this moment. However, he said the ban is needed to maintain this status and strengthen regulatory services, border control on the intra and inter-provincial movement of animals, and intensify quarantine activities within the province.

He said the province will allow the entry of poultry products provided that documentary requirements in the animal quarantine checkpoints are complied with.

Guico warned that violators shall be blacklisted and ordered the provincial veterinarian quarantine officers and the police to enforce the order in border checkpoints around the province.