DOLE, Muntinlupa LGU turn over P1.7-M boats, equipment to fishermen 

The Department of Labor and Employment (DOLE) and the Muntinlupa City government turned over eight fiberglass boats and equipment worth P1.7 million to fishermen to help them in their livelihood.

DOLE Undersecretary Benjo Santos Benavides, Muntinlupa Mayor Ruffy Biazon, and Rep. Jaime Fresnedi led the awarding ceremony in Barangay Bayanan Baywalk on Aug. 4.

The turnover ceremony for the "Bangka Project" on Aug. 4 in Muntinlupa (Photo from Muntinlupa PIO)

The fiberglass boats for Muntinlupa fishermen (Photo from Muntinlupa PIO)

The boats and equipment were turned over to the Fisheries and Aquatic Resource Management Councils (FARMCs) in barangays in Muntinlupa as part of the “Bangka Project” under the DOLE Integrated Livelihood Program (DILP).

The “Bangka Project” was an initiative of the Muntinlupa Public Employment Service Office (PESO) in coordination with the city’s Lake Management Office (LMO).

The Muntinlupa fishermen received eight 30-foot fiberglass boats with 16 HP marine engine each, eight 23-foot fiberglass boats with 7.5 HP marine engine each, 24 lifejackets, and 40 raincoats. Each FARMC got a package worth P215,400.62.

The project aims to help FARMCs augment their source of income. The creation of FARMCs in barangays, cities, and municipalities was mandated under Executive Order No. 240 issued in 1995 by then President Fidel V. Ramos.

Under the order, FARMCs will be organized “to institutionalize the major role of the local fisherfolks and other resource users in the community-based planning and implementation of policies and programs for the management, conservation, development and protection of fisheries and aquatic resources of the municipal waters as defined by the Local Government Code.”

Also present during the turnover ceremony were DOLE National Capital Region Director Sarah Buena Mirasol, DOLE MUNTAPARLAS Field OfficeDirector Leonides Castillon Jr., PESO Muntinlupa Manager Glenda Zamora-Aniñon, LMO head Hermie Dela Cruz, Vice Mayor Temy Simundac, Councilor Paty Katy Boncayao, Councilor Eliot Martinez, Councilor Ivee Arciaga and Philippine National Police Maritime Regional Unit officials.