Few solons retain chairmanships as House reorganization continues

Only a handful of reelected congressmen were able to retain their committee chairmanships for the fledgling 19th Congress.


This was the case as far as the latest list of House panel chairmanships sent to reporters is concerned.

The designations to the House panels were made official via omnibus motion from majority leader and Zamboanga City 2nd district Rep. Mannix Dalipe. The motion was approved during the plenary session on Wednesday night, July 27.

Based on the list, only Reps. Wilfredo Mark Enverga (Committee on Agriculture and Food), Christopher de Venecia (Committee on Creative Industry and Performing Arts), Robert Ace Barbers (Committee on Dangerous Drugs), Elpidio Barzaga (Committee on Environment and Natural Resources), Francisco Benitez (Committee on Housing and Urban Development) Glona Labadlabad (Committee on Inter-Parliamentary Relations and Diplomacy), and Florida Robes (Committee on People’s Participation) managed to retain their chairmanships from the previous 18th Congress.

The complete list of Wednesday's committee chairmanship designations is as follows:

Agrarian Reforms – Rep. Solomon Chungalao

Agriculture and Food – Rep. Wilfredo Mark Enverga

Aquaculture – Rep. Alfredo Marañon

Cooperatives Development – Rep. Nicanor Briones

Dangerous Drugs – Rep. Robert Ace Barbers

Disaster Resilience – Rep. Alan Ecleo

Environment and Natural Resources -- Rep. Elpidio Barzaga

Games and Amusement – Rep. Antonio Ferrer

Government Enterprises and Privatization – Rep. Edwin Olivarez

Housing and Urban Development – Rep. Kiko Benitez

Labor and Employment – Rep. Juan Fidel Nograles

Legislative Franchises – Rep. Gus Tambunting

Local Government – Rep. Rex Gatchalian

Public Order and Safety – Rep. Dan Fernandez

Metro Manila Development – Rep. Rolando Valeriano

Overseas Workers Affairs – Rep. Ron Salo

Peoples Participation – Rep. Rida Robes

Transportation – Rep. Romeo Acop

Special Committee on Creative Industries – Rep. Christopher de Venecia

Sessions in the 19th Congress only began last Monday, July 25. The first act the House members did for the purpose of reorganizing themselves for the new congress was to elect a speaker. Leyte 1st district Rep. Martin Romualdez ended up being elected for the position in overwhelming fashion.