Lakas-CMD gains more members as 4 solons, 10 mayors join fold

The Lakas-Christian Muslim Democrats (Lakas-CMD) continues to expand its membership as four more congressmen and 10 mayors joined the political party on Tuesday, July 19.

Leyte 1st district Rep. Martin Romualdez (left) swears in Davao congressmen Isidro Ungab (center), Alan Dujali (2nd from right), and Vincent Garcia (right) as new Lakas-CMD members in a simple ceremony in Manila on Tuesday, July 19, 2022. (Photo from Lakas-CMD)

The Lakas-CMD’s four newest members from the lower chamber are Davao City Reps. Isidro Ungab and Vincent Garcia, Alan Dujali of Davao del Norte’s second district, and Josefina Tallado of Camarines Norte’s first district.

They were sworn in by Lakas-CMD President and presumptive House Speaker Martin Romualdez in Manila, where the party chairperson Vice President Sara Duterte witnessed the simple oath-taking ceremony.

The party’s total membership in the House of Representatives now stands at 64.

“We await with great expectations opportunities for engaging and bonding with them and the rest of our membership,” Romualdez, a cousin of President Ferdinand "Bongbong" Marcos Jr., said in a statement.

Duterte was Marcos's running mate during the May 2022 national elections.

Romualdez expressed hope that the newest members will have “an enjoyable and fruitful engagement with us".

He once again said that Lakas-CMD “will 100 percent support the legislative and unity agenda” of Marcos.

Ungab, who once served as chairman of the House Committee on Appropriations, thanked Romualdez and Duterte for accepting him in the administration-allied party.

“I fervently share Lakas-CMD’s support for unity, peace and progress, and I am inspired to join them in their effort to take on the difficult challenge of steering our country towards economic recovery and working for improved welfare of the Filipino people,” he said in a statement sent to media.

“Everyone is concerned with the current economic crisis the whole world is facing, so let us aim to pass laws needed to rebuild the economy, create jobs, reduce poverty and ensure the delivery of social services,” Ungab added.

Apart from the four congressmen, former Surigao del Norte Gov. Francisco Matugas and 10 mayors took their oath before Romualdez during the event.

Oath-taking of former Surigao del Norte Gov. Francisco Matugas and 10 mayors of the province before Lakas-CMD President and presumptive Speaker Martin Romualdez. (Photo from Lakas-CMD)

These mayors were Burgos Mayor Angie Arcena, Dapa Mayor Elizabeth Matugas, Del Carmen Mayor Alfredo Coro II, General Luna Mayor Sol Matugas, Mainit Mayor Crisanta Mondano, Pilar Mayor Maria Liza Resurreccion, San Benito Mayor Gina Menil, San Isidro Mayor Lamberto Domiños Jr., Santa Monica Mayor Arwela Dolar, and Socorro Mayor Reizl Timcang of Surigao del Norte province.