Magnitude 6.0 quake jolts parts of northern Luzon — Phivolcs


A 6.0-magnitude earthquake jolted parts of Cagayan Valley and northern Luzon at around 2:40 a.m., Friday, July 1, said the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (Phivolcs).

Phivolcs traced the epicenter of the earthquake at 17 kilometers (km) southeast of Dalupiri Island, Calayan, Cagayan, and was shallow at a depth of 43 km.

It was felt at Intensity V as a “strong” quake in Dalupiri island, Claveria, Sta. Praxedes, Sta. Ana, Sanchez Mira, Aparri, Calayan, Ballesteros, Abulug, and Pamplona in Cagayan; Adams, Pagudpud, and Bangui in Ilocos Norte; and Flora and Luna in Apayao.

It was also felt as a “moderately strong” quake at Intensity IV in Tuguegarao City, Tuao, Gonzaga, Lal-lo, Gattaran, Alcala, Amulung, Enrile, and Peñablanca in Cagayan; Burgos, San Nicolas, Batac, Pasuquin, Bacarra, Laoag City, Vintar, Dingras, Sarrat, Solsona, and Paoay in Ilocos Norte; Sinait in Ilocos Sur; and Conner in Apayao

Meanwhile, it was “weak” at Intensity III in Rizal and Sto. Nino in Cagayan; Vigan City, Cabugao, San Juan, Magsingal, Candon City, Sta. Lucia, Sto. Domingo, Narvacan, Santa, San Vicente, Tagudin, Banayoyo, Suyo, Alilem, Santiago, Bantay, Santa Catalina, Caoayan, Cervantes, Galimuyod, Burgos, Nagbukel, San Esteban, San Ildefonso, Sugpon, Sigay, and Sta. Maria in Ilocos Sur; Peñarrubia, Tayum, and Bangued in Abra; and Cabagan in Isabela.

It was also slightly felt at Intensity II in San Fernando City, Sudipen, San Juan, and Bangar in La Union; Tabuk City in Kalinga; and La Paz, Manabo, Pidigan, and Lagayan in Abra; while it was “slightly perceptible” at Intensity I in Cauayan, Isabela.

Phivolcs said the earthquake was tectonic, which means it was caused by the movement of an active fault near the area.

It advised the public to stay vigilant as aftershocks may occur due to this earthquake.