IATF keeps NCR under Alert Level 1 from June 1-15

Metro Manila will stay under the coronavirus Alert Level 1 for the first half of June despite the local transmission of an Omicron subvariant, Malacañang announced.


Communications Undersecretary Kris Ablan said this days before the existing alert level classifications expire on May 31.

In his press briefing, Ablan said that aside from the National Capital Region (NCR), the Inter-agency Task Force (IATF) for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases placed the following areas in Luzon under Alert Level 1 from June 1 to 15, 2022:

  • Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR): Abra, Apayao, Kalinga, Mountain Province, Baguio City
  • Region 1: Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, La Union, Pangasinan, Dagupan City
  • Region 2: Batanes, Cagayan, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, Quirino, City of Santiago
  • Region IV-A: Batangas, Cavite, Laguna, Rizal, Lucena City
  • Region IV-B: Marinduque, Oriental Mindoro, Romblon, Puerto Princesa City
  • Region V: Albay, Catanduanes, Naga City

The following provinces and cities in the Visayas will also be under Alert Level 1 for the first half of June:

  • Region VI: Aklan, Capiz, Guimaras, Iloilo, Bacolod City, Iloilo City
  • Region VII: Siquijor, Cebu City, Lapu-Lapu City, Mandaue City
  • Region VIII: Biliran, Eastern Samar, Southern Leyte, Ormoc City, Tacloban City

In addition, the following areas in Mindanao will be under the same Alert Level status during the same period:

  • Region IX: Zamboanga City
  • Region X: Bukidnon, Camiguin, Misamis Occidental, Misamis Oriental, Cagayan de Oro City, Iligan City
  • Region XI: Davao City, Davao Oriental
  • CARAGA: Surigao del Sur, Butuan City

The following component cities and municipalities are also under Alert Level 1 from June 1 to 15, 2022:

  • Region IV-B: Looc, Occidental Mindoro
  • Region V: Pamplona, Camarines Sur; Mandaon, Masbate
  • Region VIII: Villaba, Leyte
  • Region IX: Salug, Zamboanga del Norte; Lapuyan, Zamboanga del Sur
  • Region XI: Nabunturan, Davao de Oro; New Bataan, Davao de Oro
  • CARAGA: San Francisco, Agusan del Sur; Dinagat, Dinagat Islands; Mainit, Surigao del Norte

Alert Level 2

Meanwhile, the following areas will be under Alert Level 2 from June 1 to 15, 2022:

  • CAR: Benguet, Ifugao
  • Region IV-A: Quezon Province
  • Region IV-B: Occidental Mindoro, Palawan
  • Region V: Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Masbate, Sorsogon
  • Region VI: Antique, Negros Occidental
  • Region VII: Bohol, Cebu Province, Negros Oriental
  • Region VIII: Leyte, Northern Samar, Western Samar
  • Region IX: City of Isabela, Zamboanga del Sur, Zamboanga del Norte, Zamboanga Sibugay;
  • Region X: Lanao del Norte
  • Region XI: Davao del Norte, Davao del Sur, Davao de Oro, Davao Occidental
  • Region XII: General Santos City, North Cotabato, Sarangani, Sultan Kudarat, South Cotabato
  • CARAGA: Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Dinagat Islands, Surigao del Norte
  • Bangsamoro Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM): Basilan, Cotabato City, Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao, Sulu, Tawi-tawi

The new alert level classifications came after the Department of Health (DOH) confirmed the local transmission of the Omicron BA.2.12.1 subvariant early this month.

The DOH also announced that it had detected a case of Omicron subvariant BA.4 in a Filipino citizen who arrived from the Middle East on May 4.