2022 Melon Music Awards: BTS, IVE, Lim Young-woong bag grand prizes 

The 2022 Melon Music Awards (MMA) in South Korea proved to be another amazing and surprising ceremony. 

Held on Nov. 26 at the Gocheok Sky Dome, the MMA this year saw trot singer Lim Young-woong, rookie K-pop girl group IVE and Grammy nominee BTS winning the “daesang” or grand prizes, the highest awards of the night. Melon is a popular music streaming and download site in South Korea. 

(Clockwise from left) Trot singer Lim Young-woong, BTS and IVE (Instagram, Twitter)

BTS won four awards. They bagged the Record of the Year (grand prize), given to those with the year's most noteworthy musical achievements.

In addition, BTS won a “bonsang” (main prize) as one of the Top 10 artists based on digital music sales (80 percent) and online voting (20 percent). They also took home Best Male Group and KakaoBank Everyone's Star awards. 

Six-member IVE made a stunning achievement by winning the Song of the Year (grand prize) for "Love Dive.” 

IVE only debuted in December last year and accomplished the feat days before their first first anniversary. IVE also won a “bonsang” (main prize) as one of the Top 10 groups, Best Female Group and Best New Artist. 

Lim Young-woon took home two grand prizes: Album of the Year for “Im Hero” and Artist of the Year. He also bagged a bonsang, Best Male Solo and Netizen Popularity Award.  

Here are the winners at the 2022 Melon Music Awards: 

Artist of the Year: Lim Young-woong Lim

Album of the Year: Lim Young-woong Lim, “I’m Hero” 

Record of the Year: BTS

Song of the Year: IVE, “Love Dive”

Top 10 Artists of the Year (Bonsang): IVE, Lim Young-woong, (G)I-DLE, Melomance, NewJeans, Be’O, BTS, IU, Seventeen, NCT DREAM

Rookie of the Year: IVE, NewJeans

Best Male Solo: Lim Young-woong

Best Female Solo: IU

Best Male Group: BTS

Best Female Group: IVE

Best Collaboration: 10cm and Big Naughty, "Beyond Love"

Best OST - MeloMance, "Love, Maybe" (from drama “Business Proposal”)

Hot Trend - Le Sserafim

Best Music Style: Big Naughty

Best Pop Artist: Charlie Puth

Netizen Popularity Award: Lim Young-woong 

KakaoBank Everyone's Star Award: BTS

Project Music Award: WSG Wannabe

Music Video of the Year: (G)I-DLE, “Tomboy” 

1theK Global Icon: ENHYPEN

Global Artist: Monsta X

Global Rising Artist: STAYC

Best Male Performance: TOMORROW X TOGETHER

Best Female Performance: Le Sserafim

Stage of the Year: IU, “The Golden Hour: Under the Orange Sun” 

Songwriter Award: (G)I-DLE’s Soyeon