GSIS adopts 25 public schools

State-owned Government Service Insurance System (GSIS) will adopt 25 public schools in partnership with the Department of Education (DepEd).

Wick Veloso, GSIS president and general manager, said that as of the pension fund’s corporate social responsibility called “Adopt-A-School Program” (ASP), it will release P10 million to these public schools in the country.

"We share President Ferdinand Marcos Jr.’s belief that education is the ‘bedrock of a prosperous society’. Our public schools need our support and assistance especially after the reopening of face-to-face classes in November,” Veloso said in a statement.

“In selecting the schools that do not have enough funds and must therefore be prioritized, we closely coordinated with DepEd," he added.

GSIS has increased the assistance for each school to P400,000 this year from P200,000 in 2014.

Veloso said that the funds will be used to provide assistive devices to the selected school such as computers, internet connectivity and educational tools.

In the National Capital Region, the adopted schools are Navotas Elementary School, Constantino Elementary School in Valenzuela City, and Laiban Integrated School in Rizal.

In Luzon, the list includes Calawaan Elementary School in Ilocos Sur; Baccuit Elementary School in Cagayan; San Miguel Elementary School in Isabela; Pinayag National High School in Nueva Vizcaya; and Maguyepyep Integrated School in Abra.

Also included are Haligue Silangan National High School in Batangas City; Calpi Elementary School in Sorsogon; Aroroy East Central School in Masbate; Tagaytay Elementary School in Albay; and Bagumbayan Elementary School in Catanduanes.

GSIS’s adopted schools in Visayas are Celestino Diaz Integrated School in Capiz; Manjuyod Central Elementary School in Negros Oriental; Gaas Elementary School in Cebu; and Nahawan Elementary School in Bohol.

Also included are Hinoloasco National High School in Eastern Samar; and Catig Primary School in Southern Leyte and Hinoloasco National High School – Caglao-an Annex in Eastern Samar.

In Mindanao, the six adopted schools include Sinoropan National High School in Zamboanga; Talisay National High School in Dapitan City; Magallanes Elementary School in Davao City; Don Ruben E. Ecleo Sr. Memorial National High School in Dinagat Island.

Others are Surigao City National High School in Surigao City; and Camp Edward Elementary School in Surigao del Norte.

Since its implementation in 2014, a total of 85 schools have already benefitted from the program.