Korean entertainment industry people vote for singer, song of the year for 2022

People from the Korean entertainment industry voted to pick the singer of the year and song of the year for 2022.

In celebration of its 18th anniversary, Korean media outlet Joy News 24 conducted a survey from Sept. 19 to Oct. 4 among 200 entertainment industry workers including employees of entertainment and broadcasting companies, film and broadcast content producers, and entertainment reporters.

(Clockwise from top left) IVE, IU, Lim Young-woong, BLACKPINK and BTS (Instagram, Big Hit Music)

Singer of the Year

The survey respondents picked K-pop girl group IVE as the No. 1 singer of the year for 2022 with 47 votes.

IVE debuted in December 2021. Joy News 24 cited the popularity of IVE’s songs “Love Dive” and “After Like.”

BTS took second place in the survey with 38 votes while IU ranked third with 36 votes.

Trot singer Lim Young-woong grabbed fourth place with 31 votes and BLACKPINK placed fifth with 26 votes.

Rookie girl group NewJeans received 10 votes to rank sixth while Stray Kids placed seventh with seven votes.

Next in the ranking were NCT and (G)I-DLE which received five votes each. Also voted by the respondents in the survey were TWICE's Nayeon, Aespa, Monsta X, Girls' Generation, TWICE, WSG Wannabe, ATEEZ, Psy, Girls' Generation’s Taeyeon, Seventeen and HYNN.

Song of the Year for 2022

In addition to singer of the year, IVE also ranked first in song of the year.

IVE’s “Love Dive,” released last April, received 62 votes out of 214 responses (which included multiple responses) to rank first in the survey.

NewJeans’ “Attention” ranked second with 30 votes followed by (G)I-DLE's “Tomboy,” which placed third with 21 votes.

BLACKPINK’s “Pink Venom” and NewJeans’ “Hype Boy” received 12 votes each to tie for fourth place.

IVE’s “After Like” and WSG Wannabe’s “At That Moment’ got 10 votes each to tie for sixth place.

Red Velvet’s “Feel My Rhythm” and Big Bang’s “Still Life” received nine votes each to tie for eighth place.

It was followed by Girls’ Generation’s “Forever 1,” Le Sserafim’s “Fearless,” Psy’s “That That,” Zico’s “New Thing,” Lim Young-woong’s “Our Blues, Our Life,” IU’’s “Winter Sleep,” BLACKPINK’s “Shut Down,” Lee Mu-jin’s “Reference,” Lim Young-woong’s “If We Ever Meet Again,” BTS’ "Yet to Come (The Most Beautiful Moment),” Kim Min-seok’s “Drunken Confession,” Aespa’s “Girls,” Jaurim’s “Twenty Five, Twenty One” and Melomance’s “Love, Maybe.”