‘Paeng’ to exit Luzon landmass within 6 to 12 hours; out of PAR by Monday – PAGASA

The state weather bureau, on Saturday evening, Oct. 29, said severe tropical storm Paeng (international name: Nalgae) will likely exit the Luzon landmass within 6 to 12 hours, adding that based on the latest forecast track, it may leave the Philippine area of responsibility (PAR) on Monday, Oct. 31.

The Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (PAGASA), in its bulletin issued at 11 p.m., said Paeng has crossed the Laguna de Bay and the Metro Manila-Rizal-Bulacan area and is now in the vicinity of Baliuag, Bulacan.

Paeng has maximum sustained winds of 95 kilometers per hour (kph) and gustiness of up to 160 kph.

“Paeng may maintain its strength from the remainder of its traverse of the Luzon landmass, although the possibility of slight weakening is not ruled out within the next 6 hours,” said PAGASA.

(MB Visual Content Group)

Hazards affecting PH

The weather disturbance, before it emerges over the West Philippine Sea, will continue to bring heavy to intense rains in Metro Manila, Zambales, Bataan, Tarlac, Pampanga, Bulacan, Rizal, Laguna, Cavite, Batangas, and the northern portion of mainland Quezon until Sunday, Oct. 30.

Meanwhile, moderate to at times intense rains may be experienced over mainland Cagayan Valley, Cordillera Administrative Region, Mindoro Provinces, the central portion of Quezon including Polillo islands, and the rest of Central Luzon.

“Under these conditions, widespread flooding and rain-induced landslides are expected,” PAGASA said.

Wind Signals in effect

Tropical Cyclone Wind Signals (TCWS) are still raised due to the weather disturbance.

Wind Signal no. 3 remained hoisted in the northern portion of Metro Manila, Bataan, the southern portion of Zambales, Pampanga, Bulacan, and the southern portion of Tarlac.

Areas placed under Signal No. 2 were Pangasinan, the southern portion of Aurora, the rest of Tarlac, Nueva Ecija, the rest of Zambales, Laguna, Batangas, the northern and central portions of Quezon including Polillo Islands, Rizal, Cavite, the rest of Metro Manila, Cavite, the northern portion of Oriental Mindoro, and the northern portion of Occidental Mindoro including Lubang Islands.

Meanwhile, Signal No. 1 was hoisted over La Union, Kalinga, Abra, Benguet, Ifugao, Ilocos Sur, Mountain Province, Nueva Vizcaya, Quirino, Isabela, the rest of Aurora, the rest of Quezon, Catanduanes, Camarines Sur, Camarines Norte, Albay, Sorsogon, the western portion of Masbate including Burias and Ticao Islands, the rest of Occidental Mindoro, the rest of Oriental Mindoro, Palawan including Calamian Islands, Cuyo Islands, Romblon, and Marinduque, Capiz, Aklan, and the northern portion of Antique including Caluya Islands.

Wind Signals in other areas were lifted by PAGASA.