PAGASA: STS Paeng maintains strength while traversing the Cavite area

Severe tropical storm Paeng (international name: Nalgae) is now traversing the northern portion of Cavite, said the Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (PAGASA) on Saturday evening, Oct. 29.

After traversing the Cavite area, the weather disturbance will cross the southern portion of Bataan.

(MB Visual Content Group)

Location, hazards

Last spotted in the vicinity of General Mariano Alvarez, Cavite, Paeng was packing maximum winds of 95 kilometers per hour (kph) and gustiness of up to 115 kph.

Due to Paeng, heavy to intense rains will prevail over Metro Manila, Bataan, Zambales, CALABARZON, Marinduque, Mindoro Provinces, and the northern portion of Palawan including Calamian and Cuyo Islands on Saturday evening.

The impacts of Paeng will still be experienced in most parts of Luzon until Sunday, Oct. 30.

“, moderate to heavy with at times intense rains Zambales, Bataan, and Ilocos Region. Light to moderate with at times heavy rains possible over Metro Manila, Cordillera Administrative Region, MIMAROPA, CALABARZON, and the rest of Central Luzon,” said PAGASA.

Residents of these areas were warned to be vigilant against widespread flooding and other rain-induced hazards such as landslides.

Although Paeng has already made landfall five times, the state weather bureau said it will likely maintain its strength while traversing the Luzon landmass.

Meanwhile, Tropical Cyclone Wind Signals (TCWS) are still hoisted in several areas across the country.

Signal No. 3, for an instance, was hoisted in the following areas in Luzon: the central and southern portions of Zambales, Bataan, the southern portion of Bulacan, the western portion of Pampanga, Metro Manila, the southwestern portion of Quezon, Laguna, Batangas, Cavite, Rizal, the northwestern portion of Occidental Mindoro including Lubang Islands, and the northwestern portion of Oriental Mindoro.

Areas under Wind Signal No. 2, on the other hand, include Pangasinan, the southern portion of Aurora, Tarlac, Nueva Ecija, the rest of Bulacan, the rest of Pampanga, the rest of Zambales, the central portion of Oriental Mindoro, the central portion of Mindoro, Marinduque, the northern portion of Romblon, the western and central portions of Camarines Norte, the western portion of Camarines Sur, and the rest of Quezon including Polillo Islands.

Wind Signal No. 1 was hoisted in La Union, Kalinga, Abra, Benguet, Ifugao, Ilocos Sur, Mountain Province, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, Quirino, the rest of Aurora, Catanduanes, Albay, Sorsogon, Masbate including Ticao and Burias Islands, the rest of Romblon, the rest of Camarines Sur, the rest of Camarines Norte, the rest of Occidental Mindoro, the rest of Oriental Mindoro, and the northern portion of Palawan including Calamian and Cuyo Islands, the western portion of Northern Samar, the northwestern portion of Samar, the northwestern portion of Leyte, the northern portion of Biliran, the extreme northern portion of Cebu including Bantayan Islands, the northern portion of Negros Occidental, Guimaras, Capiz, Iloilo, Aklan, and Antique.

Wind Signals in other areas were already lifted by the state weather bureau.