Heavy rains to persist in Metro Manila, nearby areas until Sunday, says PAGASA

The heavy to at times torrential rains brought by severe tropical storm Paeng (international name: Nalgae) may persist until Sunday, Oct. 30, said the Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical, and Astronomical Services Administration (PAGASA).

PAGASA’s 5 p.m. bulletin showed that the weather disturbance was packing winds of 95 kilometers per hour (kph) and gustiness of up to 160 kph. It was last seen in the vicinity of San Pablo City, Laguna.

Based on the state weather bureau’s latest forecast track, Paeng will continue to barrel through the Philippine landmass by traversing the Cavite-Batangas area.

Areas that will be particularly affected by the heavy to intense rains due to Paeng include Metro Manila, CALABARZON, Marinduque, Romblon, Mindoro Provinces, and the northern portion of Palawan including Calamian and Cuyo Islands.

“, moderate to heavy with at times intense rains over Zambales, Bataan, and Ilocos Region. Light to moderate with at times heavy rains possible over Metro Manila, Cordillera Administrative Region, MIMAROPA, the rest of CALABARZON, and the rest of Central Luzon," it added.

Although it already made landfall five times, PAGASA said Paeng may “maintain its strength while traversing the Luzon landmass.” Its fifth landfall scenario was recorded in Sariaya, Quezon at 1:40 p.m.

(MB Visual Content Group)

Wind Signals in effect

As Paeng continues to ravage and drench the country’s landmass with intense rains, wind signals remained hoisted over various parts of the Philippines.

Tropical Cyclone Wind Signal No. 3, the current highest wind alarm hoisted, was in effect over Metro Manila, Bataan, the southern portion of Zambales, the northern and central portions of Quezon including Polillo Islands, Laguna, Batangas, Cavite, Rizal, the northwestern portion of Occidental Mindoro including Lubang Islands, and the northern portion of Oriental Mindoro.

Signal No. 2, on the other hand, was raised in the southern portion of Aurora, Bulacan, Pampanga, Tarlac, the rest of Zambales, the western portion of Camarines Sur, the rest of Oriental Mindoro, the rest of Occidental Mindoro, Nueva Ecija, Pangasinan, Camarines Norte, the rest of Quezon, Marinduque, and Romblon.

Areas placed under Signal No. 1 include Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, Quirino, La Union, Kalinga, Abra, Benguet, Ifugao, Mountain Province, Ilocos Sur, the rest of Aurora, Catanduanes, the rest of Camarines Sur, Albay, Sorsogon, Masbate including Ticao and Burias Islands, and the northern portion of Palawan including Calamian Islands and Cuyo Islands.

Meanwhile, in the Visayas, the following areas were placed under Signal No. 1: Northern Samar, the northern portion of Eastern Samar, the northern portion of Leyte, Biliran, the northern and central portions of Samar, the northern and central portions of Cebu including Bantayan and Camotes Islands, the northern and central portions of Negros Occidental, the northern portion of Negros Oriental, Guimaras, Capiz, Iloilo, Aklan, and Antique.