Students in Metro Manila pilot schools to continue lessons under distance learning --- Briones

While face to face classes in pilot schools located in the National Capital Region (NCR) have been temporarily suspended, Education Secretary Leonor Briones assured that the students will continue their lessons under the distance learning set-up.

(FILE PHOTO / DepEd Philippines)

“Those who completed pilot face to face classes will continue under distance learning delivery modality,” Briones said in a phone interview on Jan. 2.

Briones said that DepEd was able to complete the pilot implementation of limited face to face classes, which started on Nov. 15, last month.

However, select schools in NCR only started pilot face to face classes on Dec. 6. “They will not continue face to face classes at this time because the IATF is very clear,” she added.

The Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-EID) has placed Metro Manila under Alert Level 3 following a surge in coronavirus disease (COVID-19) cases.

Under this category, face to face classes in basic education are not allowed.

“Balik sa distance learning set-up particularly ang NCR (Students will go back to distance learning set-up particularly in NCR),” Briones said.

Based on the list issued by DepEd, there were 28 Metro Manila schools that have been approved to hold limited face to face classes.

These schools are Andres Bonifacio Elementary School, Bagumbong Elementary School, Comembo Elementary School, Santiago Syjuco Memorial Integrated Secondary School, Amado T. Reyes Elementary School, Renato R. Lopez Elementary School, Aurora A. Quezon Elementary School, Ramon Q. Avancena High School, St. Mary Elementary School, Tañong High School, Putatan Elementary School, Tunasan National High School, Bangkulasi Senior High School, Filemon T. Lizan Senior High School, Don Galo Elementary School, La Huerta Elementary School, Padre Zamora Elementary School, Ugong National High School, Pasig Elementary School, Bagong Silangan Elementary School, Payatas B Elementary School, Pedro Cruz Elementary School, Ricardo P. Cruz, Sr. Elementary School, Sen. Renato “Compañero” Cayetano Memorial Science & Technology High School, Roberta De Jesus Elementary School Disiplina Village Bignay Extension, Tagalag Elementary School, Las Piñas National High School and Las Piñas City National Senior High School – Manuyo Campus.

Due to the public health situation brought by the COVID-19 pandemic, DepEd has been implementing a distance learning approach for two school years.

In areas where pilot face to face classes were not yet allowed, students learn their lessons at home through multiple learning delivery modalities such as printed and offline modular; online learning; television and radio-based instruction and blended learning or a combination of two or more learning modalities.