House completes CA contingent, names more panel chairpersons

Published August 8, 2022, 8:03 PM

by Ellson Quismorio

The House of Representatives moved one step closer to completing the reorganization of its committees Monday, Aug. 8 after more solons were designated to their respective panel chairmanships.


Making the motion to designate the various House members to their new positions during Monday night’s plenary session was Senior Deputy Majority Leader Ilocos Norte 1st district Rep. Sandro Marcos.

As per Marcos’s motion, Caloocan 1st district Rep. Oscar Malapitan and Iloilo 4th district Rep. Ferjenel Biron were given the final two seats in the powerful Commission on Appointments (CA).

The House leadership filled the first 10 seats in its 12-man CA contingent last week.

Meanwhile, the following committee chairmanships were also filled via the presidential son’s motion:

Committee on Visayas Development – Leyte 2nd district Rep. Lolita Javier

Committee on the Welfare of Children- BHW Party-list Rep. Angelica Natasha Co

Special Committee on the West Philippine Sea- Mandaluyong City lone district Rep. Neptali Gonzales II

Committee on National Defense and Security- Iloilo 5th district Rep. Raul Tupas

Committee on Trade and Industry- Batangas 5th district Rep. Mario Vittorio Mariño

Aklan 2nd district Rep. Teodorico Haresco Jr., the erstwhile chairman of the Committee on Economic Affairs, was replaced by Negros Occidental 1st district Rep. Gerardo Valmayor Jr.

Following Monday’s session, only 14 committees—10 regular or standing committees and four special committees–are still without a chairperson.

There are 64 standing committees and 15 special committees in the House.