Bill seeking to rename NAIA into MIA filed in Congress anew

Published July 7, 2022, 4:40 PM

by Raymund Antonio

A party-list lawmaker filed a bill in Congress proposing to rename the Ninoy Aquino International Airport (NAIA) back into the Manila International Airport (MIA), less than a week after a bill was lodged to rename the gateway into the Ferdinand E. Marcos International Airport.


Duterte Youth Party-list Rep. Drixie Cardema filed House Bill (HB) No. 1253 on Tuesday, July 5, although a copy of the bill was only made available to the media on Thursday, July 7.

“The name of the international gateway of the country should have not been politicized in the first place,” the bill’s explanatory note said.

“Our nation’s capital is named Manila, therefore our country’s international gateway to the world must be known as the Manila International Airport as a sense of pride for our country’s capital and for foreigners to easily locate our main gateway, when travelling to our country and across the world. In view of the foregoing, the passage of this measure is sought!,” it added.

It also noted that the administration of the late former President Corazon Aquino renamed the then-MIA to NAIA in connection with the death of her husband.

Former Senator Benigno “Ninoy” Aquino Jr. was an “anti-Marcos leader”, the bill claimed.

The ex-senator was an outspoken critic of Marcos Sr.’s administration and was gunned down on the airport’s tarmac in 1983.

Cardema’s bill came after Negros Oriental Rep. Arnolfo Teves Jr. filed a measure to rename the airport after former President Ferdinand Marcos Sr.

READ: Teves justifies putting Marcos name on NAIA: ‘EDSA revolt no longer relevant’

In his proposed bill, the lawmaker said that it was only right to name the airport after the president who constructed it, although this was refuted by the Manila International Airport Authority (MIAA).

MIAA said that the airport’s international runway and associated taxiway were started in 1953, while the control tower was completed in 1961. Marcos Sr. came to power in 1965.