Calongcagon proclaimed mayor of Agoo

The Commission on Elections (Comelec) on Tuesday, July 5, proclaimed Stefanie Ann Eriguel Calongcagon as the duly elected mayor of Agoo.


Comelec Acting Spokesperson John Rex Laudiangco confirmed the proclamation of Calongcagon that day.

"Proclaimed already and the Writ of Execution in SPA 21-172 (DC) was fully implemented," he said.

The Comelec Special Second Division earlier directed the Municipal Board of Canvassers (MBOC) of the Municipality of Agoo, La Union to reconvene on Intramuros, Manila to: annul the proclamation of Frank Ong Sibuma as the

Municipal Mayor of the Municipality of Agoo, La Union; amend/correct, the Certificate of Canvass of Votes and Proclamation for the position of Mayor, in the Municipality of Agoo, La Union, based on the Amended Statement of Votes by Precinct; and proclaim Stefanie Ann Eriguel Calongcagon as the duly elected Municipal Mayor for the Municipality of Agoo, La Union.

This was contained in the Writ of Execution dated June 29 and signed by Presiding Commissioner Socorro Inting.

It was last May 13 when the Commission (Second Division) promulgated a Resolution granting the petition of Alma Panelo to cancel the Certificate of Candidacy of Sibuma for the position of Mayor in connection with the 2022 National and Local Elections.

The case is for cancellation of COC due to material misrepresentation.

The Comelec, however, said that the respondent's non-filing of a Motion for Reconsideration within the five-day reglementary period reckoned from the date of service, the Commission (Second Division) issued the corresponding Certificate of Finality and Entry of Judgment on May 24, 2022.

The Certificate of Finality reads:

"Now therefore, in view of the foregoing, the Resolution of the Commission (Second Division) promulgated on May 13, 2022 is hereby declared final and executory."