Mayor Rama’s goal: Make Cebu City second to none, be like Singapore

Published July 1, 2022, 11:10 AM

by Calvin Cordova 

CEBU City Mayor Michael Rama signs his oath of office following his inauguration Thursday, June 30, at Plaza Sugbo. (Photo from Councilor Dondon Hontiveros FB)
CEBU CITY – Reelected Mayor Michael Rama vowed to make this city second to none as he revealed his plans for the first 100 days of his fresh three-year term.

Rama took his oath Thursday, June 30, at Plaza Sugbo where he revealed his plans and projects as part of his vision for a “Singapore-like Cebu City.”

“To borrow my mentor’s mantra: We will make Cebu City second to none. That is not far-fetched,” said Rama.

Rama expressed confidence of his administration realizing its plans especially that the city will have the support of President Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. and Vice President Sara Duterte.

“That is not impossible, with God, with BBM with Sara, the Speaker, the Senate President, they are all on our side,” Rama said.

Rama’s plans include realizing the Bus Rapid Transit (BRT) project, convening a traffic summit, and asphalting city streets.

The Cebu City mayor will also push for installing public WiFi portals, rolling out the “Let There Be Light” program to more households, engaging developers to undertake socialized housing, constructing of a condominium for city hall and other government employees, and equipping and modernizing the police force.

“My fellow public servants, as we take our oath today, may the resounding trust and confidence reposed upon us by our fellow Cebuanos be a constant reminder to embrace our responsibilities with selfless dedication, integrity, accountability, transparency, and ultimately, faithfulness to the Almighty,” Rama said in his message.

Rama took his oath before Court of Appeals Justice Jacinto Fajardo Jr.

After taking his oath, the mayor administered the oath of Vice Mayor Raymond Alvin Garcia as well as the city councilors.

Elected councilors in the city’s north district are Nestor Archival Sr., Jerry Guardo, Joel Garganera, Edgardo “Jaypee” Labella II, Joy Augustus Young, Noel Wenceslao, and Pastor “Jun” Alcover Jr.

Winning councilors in the south district are Donaldo “Dondon” Hontiveros, Joy Pesquera, Phillip Zafra, Renato “Junjun” Osmeña, Jr., James Anthony Cuenco, Rey Gealon, and Francis Esparis.

A Holy Mass celebrated by Cebu Archbishop Jose Palma ushered in the inauguration ceremony.

Sen. Christopher Lawrence “Bong” Go congratulated Rama through a video message. “Ipadayon ra gihapon nato ang pagserbisyo sa atong mga kaigsuonan. Magtinabangay lang ta (Continue to serve our brothers and sisters. Let us help each other),” Go said.