Letran leads participating teams as PBA D-League unfolds next week

Published June 28, 2022, 9:09 PM

by Reynald I. Magallon

NCAA Season 97 champion Letran headlines the eight participating teams in the return of the PBA D-League Aspirants’ Cup next week.

Photo from NCAA/GMA

The Knights, who will be playing under the banner of Wang’s Basketball, will have NCAA MVP and Rookie of the Year Rhenz Abando in the fold along with Fran Yu and Louie Sangalang.

They will slug it out against six other school-based squads and one club team led by NAASCU titlist College of St. Clare which will be backed by Adalem Construction and spearheaded by NAASCU MVP Jhonsherick Estrada.

Completing the cast are EcoOil-La Salle, Builders Warehouse-UST, Apex Fuel-San Sebastian, Centro Escolar University, AMA Online Education, and club team Marinerong Pilipino who are reportedly trying to tap the core of NCAA bridesmaid finisher Mapua.

Games will be held every Tuesday at Ynares Sports Arena in Pasig, and on Thursday and Saturday mornings at the Smart Araneta Coliseum.