Voter registration to resume July 4

The continuing voter registration will resume on July 4.


Commission on Elections (Comelec) Acting Spokesperson John Rex Laudiangco said the en banc approved on Wednesday, June 22, the resumption of continuing voter’s registration from July 4 to 23, 2022.

He explained that the registration is less than a month since under Republic Act 8189 (Continuing Voter’s Registration Act), voter registration is prohibited within 120 days prior to elections.

"The Barangay and Sangguniang Kabataan polls is on Dec. 5, 2022. Roughly starting August 7, its already prohibited," he said.

"Therefore, we only have July 24 to Aug 6 to post/publish names of voter registration applicants; calendar/set the Election Registration Board (ERB) hearings; subject registrants to database verification;conduct said ERB hearings;draft and approve the Project of Precincts; and cluster established precincts as may be necessary," added Laudiangco.

The poll official earlier said that the projected total number of registered voters for Barangay Elections is 66,053,357.

As for the Sangguniang Kabataan Elections, he said, the projected total number of registered voters is 23,059,227.

"These are mere projections based on historical data for purposes of planning and procurement for the BSKE," said Laudiangco.

Meanwhile, the poll body has set the date of the Plebiscite to ratify the division of the Province of Maguindanao into two provinces, namely: Maguindanao del Norte and Maguindanao del Sur to Sept. 17, 2022, in accordance with Republic Act No. 11550.