Makati City to celebrate 352nd founding anniversary, hold oath-taking of elected officials on June 1

The Makati City local government announced that the city will hold a celebration to mark its 352nd founding anniversary on Wednesday, June 1, as well as the oath-taking of its newly elected officials.

According to Mayor Abby Binay, the celebration will start at 5:30 p.m. wherein a program will be held for the employees of the city government and Makatizens. A raffle program will also be launched as well as an invocation led by Makati City Hall employees, members of the LGBTQ+ community, senior citizens, students, and other communities in the city.

The city government also invited performers such as Top Suzara, Gigi de Llana, and Aegis to grace the event.

It will also give due recognition to the city government's employees who displayed exemplary service to both the city and its citizens.

A fireworks display will then be held to cap off the night of the celebration.

"Bukas po ang selebrasyon para sa lahat, pero huwag sana nating kalimutang mag-ingat at sumunod pa rin sa minimum public health requirements (The celebration is open for all, but let us not forget to be careful and follow the minimum public health requirements)," Binay said.

"Alam ko pong na-miss ninyo ang ganitong mga kasiyahan at pagtitipon-tipon, kaya naman sinikap namin na gumawa kahit simpleng programa at hindi palampasin ang pagkakataong ito na magkasama-sama tayo (I know you've missed these type of celebrations that's why we all did our best to create a simple program to not lose this chance to be with you)," she added.

Aside from the founding celebration, the oath-taking of the city's newly elected leaders will also be held on the same day.

The mayor said that Justice Mac de Leon will officiate the oath-taking of herself, Vice Mayor Monique Lagdameo, Congressmen Kid Peña and Luis Campos, and the city' councilors comprised of Martin Arenas, Vir Jhong Hilario, Jojo Javier, Armand Padilla, Rene Saguisag, Joey Villena, Alcine Yabut, Carmina Ortega, Alden Almario, Doris Arayon, Dodik Baniqued, Sammy Cruz, Ina Sarosa, Bong Ariones, Ryansoler Calimbahin, and Ed Marquez.