Final, official tally: Marcos, Duterte on top with over 31M votes each

Published May 25, 2022, 5:02 PM

by Ellson Quismorio

The final numbers from the National Board of Canvassers (NBOC) are in.

(Screenshot from Facebook live)

The final and official tally in the May 9, 2022 presidential race showed Partido Federal ng Pilipinas (PFP) standard-bearer Bongbong Marcos on top with 31,629,783 votes. A far second is opposition leader, Vice President Leni Robredo, with 15,035,773 votes.

In the vice presidential race, incumbent Davao City Mayor Sara Duterte trounced the competition with 32,208,417 votes. The closest to her was Senator Francis Pangilinan, with 9,329,207 votes.

The NBOC terminated the canvassing at around 3:30 p.m. after tabulating votes from 171 available certificates of canvass (COCs).

All in all, 53,815,484 votes among the presidential candidates were counted in two days’ worth of canvassing.

Marcos and Duterte, which comprise the UniTeam, are expected to be proclaimed as president-elect and vice president-elect, respectively at the House of Representatives in a joint session anytime this afternoon.