Duterte signs law granting night shift differential pay to gov't employees

Published May 16, 2022, 4:37 PM

by Argyll Cyrus Geducos

President Duterte has signed into law the bill granting government employees a night-shift differential at a rate not exceeding 20 percent of the hourly basic rate of the employee.

President Duterte (Malacañang photo)

Duterte signed Republic Act (RA) No. 11701 on April 13, but the copy was released only on May 16.

The new law covers government workers occupying position items from Division Chief and below, or their equivalent, whether they are permanent, contractual, temporary, or casual employees.

Those working in government-owned and -controlled corporations (GOCCs) are likewise covered.

The said government workers shall be paid night shift differential at a rate not exceeding 20 percent of the hourly basic rate of the employee for each hour of work performed between 6 p.m. and 6 a.m. the following day.

The night shift differential provided under the new law shall not diminish whatever benefits or allowances the government employees are currently receiving.

RA 11701 defines the hourly basic rate as the basic salary rate per hour derived by dividing the basic monthly rate by 22 working days and dividing the quotient derived by eight hours.

Employees not covered

Government employees whose office hours are from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. are not covered under the new law. They will be paid overtime pay if they work beyond the regular eight-hour schedule.

Also not covered are government workers whose services are required or are on-call, 24 hours a day, such as the uniformed personnel of the following agencies:

  • Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP)
  • Philippine National Police (PNP)
  • Bureau of Jail Management and Penology (BJMP)
  • Bureau of Fire Protection (BFP)
  • Other similarly situated as determined by the Civil Service Commission (CSC) and the Department of Budget and Management (DBM)