Baste, Pulong win by landslide in Davao City

DAVAO CITY -- The Duterte brothers are set to continue their respective duties in Davao following their landslide victories in May 9 elections.

The Commission on Elections-Davao’s Board of Canvassers chaired by Sitti Shahane Balt officially announced Sebastian ‘Baste’ Duterte as the next mayor of Davao City and Paolo ‘Pulong’ Duterte as representative of the city’s first district even before the canvassing of total votes had yet to be completed.

Both Baste and Pulong appeared headed for landslide victories.

Baste garnered 597,082 votes from the city’s 182 barangays while his opponent, Ruy Elias Lopez, got only 67,615 votes after the Board of Canvassers completed 95.96% of election returns.

Baste’s elder brother, Pulong, had 212,382 votes over Mags Maglana with 14,122 votes. Pulong who thanked his supporters and assured that he will continue the programs he had started and would offer more projects for the people of the first district and for Davao City.

The incoming city mayor, in a video message, also expressed his heartfelt gratitude to the Davaoeños who expressed their full support and trust that he can serve Davao City.

“Naay tulo ka tuig para mupakita kog resulta sa inyoha. Pagkahuman sa tulo ka tuig kamo na ang bahala kung unsaon na ninyo. Ako pasalamat lang gyud kaayo ko ninyo (I will have three years to prove myself as city mayor. After that, you decide. I just want to thank you all),” Baste said.

Meanwhile, the winning Davao City council members are the following:

First District City Council Members: 1. Ibuyan, Kap 2. Acosta, Luna 3. Bonguyan, Jessica 4. Ocampo, Tek

5. Al-Ag, Bernie 6. Militar, Bonz 7. Braga, Pilar, and 8. Abellera, Nilo Jr.

Second District City Council Members: 1. Justol, Che Che 2. Campos, Javi Garcia 3. Bonguyan, Louie John

4. Apostol, Dante 5. Mahipus, Atty. Diosdado 6. Dayap, Jonard 7. Abella, Marissa, and 8. Alejandre, Al Ryan

Third District City Council Members: 1. Ungab, Alberto 2. Al-Ag, Nonoy 3. Villafuerte, Doc Potpot 4. Dalodo-Ortiz, Myrna 5. Advincula, Sweet 6. Zozobrado, Cocoy 7. Baluran, Conde, and 8. Villafuerte, Enzo.