Marcoses secure key Ilocos Norte political posts

Published May 12, 2022, 2:39 PM

by Freddie Lazaro

LAOAG CITY, Ilocos Norte — The Marcos clan has secured key political posts in Ilocos Norte after the May 9, 2022 National and Local Elections.

Joining re-elected Governor Matthew Marcos Manotoc are First District Congressman-elect Ferdinand Alexander “Sandro” Marcos, who got 108,423 votes, and re-elected Second District Congressman Angelo Marcos Barba, who earned 127,867 votes.

Governor Marcos Manotoc’s ally, re-elected Vice Governor Cecilia Araneta-Marcos also saw a landslide win with 267,896 votes.

Incumbent Governor Marcos Manotoc wins re-election by landslide victory in the 2022 National and Local Elections and will serve his second term as governor of the Ilocos Norte in the next three years.

Manotoc was proclaimed the winner of the gubernatorial race by the Commission on Elections (COMELEC) through the provincial board of canvassers.

Governor Marcos Manotoc got 261,885 votes while his rival, former Congressman Rodolfo ‘Rudy’ Fariñas received 94,372 votes.

“Thank you very much to our constituents in our beloved province of Ilocos Norte. As we have said in the past, Ilocos Norte leads the Solid North and it’s truly an honor and a pleasure to work here in Ilocos Norte as your Governor,”said Gov Marcos Manotoc in an interview after the proclamation ceremony.

Meanwhile, the Team Marcos candidates who won seats in the provincial board are the following: Atty. Saul Lazo (88,031 votes), Atty. Franklin Dante Respicio (83,423 votes), Atty. Donald Nicolas (81,633 votes), and Ms. Portia Salenda (78,890 votes). They all got seats in the first district provincial board.

Meanwhile, the second district board members are Mr. Rafael Medina (88,094 votes), Dr. Medeldorf Gaoat (81,181 votes), Mr. Giancarlo Crisostomo (61,678 votes), and Mr. Jonathan Torralba (57,540 votes.)

Winning candidates from other political parties, on the other hand, complete the set of provincial officials: Junior Fariñas, who was re-elected as a provincial board member and received the most votes (90,259), earning him the title of Senior Board Member; and Second District Board Member Aladine Santos (63,035 votes), an independent candidate.

The newly-elected national and local government officials will officially take office after their formal inauguration on June 30.