Fresnedi, Biazon, Simundac, One Muntinlupa councilors sweep election

Ruffy Biazon is the new mayor of Muntinlupa, Jaime Fresnedi is the new congressman, and incumbent Vice Mayor Artemio Simundac got reelected as their One Muntinlupa councilors made a clean sweep of the election on May 9.

The City Board of Canvassers (CBOC) proclaimed the winners of the election in Muntinlupa City on May 10 at the session hall of the Sangguniang Panlungsod at the city hall complex.

Muntinlupa's new vice mayor Artemio Simundac, new mayor Ruffy Biazon, and new congressman Jaime Fresnedi with their winning councilors in Districts 1 and 2 at the proclamation on May 10. (Jonathan Hicap)

The One Muntinlupa team at the proclamation on May 10 at the session hall of the Sangguniang Panlungsod of Muntinlupa (Jonathan Hicap) 

Official results from the City Board of Canvassers showed Biazon, the incumbent congressman, garnered a total of 180,742 votes to win as mayor against Red Mariñas, who received 60,434 votes, or a margin of 120,308 votes. Nelson Benjamin got 1,153 votes while Oscar Marmeto received 1,069.

For congressman, Fresnedi, the incumbent mayor, won with total votes of 183,085 against Silverio Garing’s 52,530, or a margin of 130,555 votes.

Artemio Simundac won another term, winning the election with 131,882 votes, a lead of 34,315 votes against Oyo Boy Dioko who got 97,567.

Meanwhile, all 16 councilors of One Muntinlupa in Districts 1 and 2 won.

The elected new councilors in District 1 are One Muntinlupa’s Raul Corro, Alexson Diaz, Paty Katy Boncayao, Rachel Arciaga, Ivee Arciaga, Allan Camilon, Jedi Presnedi and Ting Niefes.

Winning as councilors in District 2 are One Muntinlupa bets Lester Baes, Ryan Bagatsing, Luvi Constantino, Metong Sevilla, Marissa Rongavilla, Arlene Hilapo, Eliot Martinez and Dado Moldez.

Corro received 117,497 votes, the highest among winning councilors. This is the fifth time that he has topped the election for councilor in Muntinlupa.

Of the 311,750 total registered voters in Muntinlupa, 252,396 voted or 81 percent.