Marcos camp reminds supporters: BBM is number 7 on the ballot

Published May 4, 2022, 6:20 PM

by Seth Cabanban

The camp of presidential candidate Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. has issued a statement reminding supporters that his number on the official ballot is 7.

Comelec Commissioner George Garcia shows a copy of the official ballot for the May 2022 Elections during a walkthrough inspection at the Comelec warehouse in Sta. Rosa, Laguna on March 14, 2022.(Ali Vicoy)

“We should spread the word: Marcos Jr. is Number 7 on the ballot. Let us protect the next president by ascertaining and protecting our votes,” Marcos’s spokesperson Atty. Vic Rodriguez said in a press statement on Wednesday, May 4.

This, after the Marcos camp alleged that “opponents” had made attempts to deceive voters by releasing election paraphernalia depicting Marcos alongside other ballot numbers.

The statement released by the camp did not name any other party specifically. The Marcos camp also did not put forward any evidence.

“We denounce in the strongest possible terms the attempt to mislead and deceive the Filipino voting population with the assigning of another number for presidential candidate Marcos Jr. in sample ballots and tarpaulins, which are being distributed in certain communities and displayed in public places,” said Rodriguez.

“The sample ballot should have been to guide the public. In this instance however, whoever is behind it, intends to make BBM supporters remember the wrong number. Marcos Jr.’s official number on the ballot is #7,” said Rodriguez.

Despite Rodriguez’ claim, the official ballots printed by the Commission on Elections (Comelec) for use on May 9 election day will feature the candidate’s name and their political party alongside their corresponding ballot number, thus ensuring that voters know who they’re voting for.

Meanwhile, excluding Marcos, the other presidential candidates are numbered as follows: 1 Ernesto Abella; 2 Leodegario “Ka Leody” De Guzman; 3 Mayor Francisco “Isko Moreno” Domagoso; 4 Norberto Gonzales; 5 Senator Panfilo “Ping” Lacson; 6 Faisal Mangondato; 8 Jose Montemayor Jr.; 9 Senator Manny Pacquiao; and 10 Vice President Leni Robredo.