Briones to new DepEd appointees: Be faithful, serve passionately

Published February 17, 2022, 2:46 PM

by Merlina Hernando-Malipot

Education Secretary Leonor Briones administered the oath-taking of 25 newly-appointed officials of the Department of Education (DepEd) and challenged them to “passionately” serve the agency and its constituents and be faithful to their sworn duty.

Education Secretary Leonor Briones (Photo from DepEd)

“Be faithful to your oath, be faithful to the terms of references, to the terms of your responsibilities,” Briones told the largest batch of third-level officials of the department as appointed by President Duterte during their oath-taking held at the Eugenio Lopez Center in Antipolo City.

“I think that is a tough challenge at this time because giving your faith and allegiance to a country, to a population of 100 million humans is the real challenge,” Briones stressed.

Among the inductees were new Assistant Secretary Juan Valeriano C. Respicio IV, Central Office Directors Marivic Leano (Education Assessment), Joel Erestain (Palarong Pambansa Secretariat), Jennifer Lopez (Bureau of Human Resource and Organizational Development), Samuel Soliven (Bureau of Curriculum Development), Lope Santos III (Bureau of Learner Support Services), and Ariz Delson Acay Cawilan (Bureau of Learning Resources).

Respicio thanked DepEd officials for guiding third-level officials in crafting leadership philosophy that they can use in serving the public.

He also challenged his fellow appointees to take an active role in forwarding the mission of the department.

“I trust that this breakthrough in our professional life will deepen our commitment to public service as we bring change to our perspective sphere of influence,” Respicio said.

“As we remain committed to upholding the standards of selfless leadership, may we take meaningful strides and play an active role towards a better, stronger, and progressive Department of Education,” he added.

Meanwhile, Regional Directors Ruth Fuentes (Region IX), Carlito Rocafort (Region XII), Tolentino Aquino (Region I), Evelyn Fetalvero (Region VIII), Salustiano Jimenez (Region VII), Nicolas Capulong (MIMAROPA), Francis Cesar Bringas (CALABARZON), and Benjamin Paragas (Region II) were also officially sworn to office.

Assistant Regional Directors Pedro Escobarte Jr. (VI), Ronald Castillo (I), Bebiano Sentillas (VIII), Rhoda Razon (III), Florante Vergara (CAR ), Ronelo Al Firmo ( V ), Jessie Amin (II), Cristito Eco (VII), Maria Ines Asuncion (XI), and Fiel Almendra (CARAGA) were inducted as well.

Meanwhile, Briones also recognized DepEd’s Career Executive Service Officer Rank Appointees including Undersecretary for Finance Annalyn Sevilla.

Last Jan. 28, DepEd and its partner agencies, the National Council for Children Television (NCCT), and the Teacher Education Council (TEC) also welcomed its new council members.

NCCT installed lawyer Santiago Gabionza Jr. as its new council member representing the academe while TEC welcomed Dr. Jestoni Babia representing the Visayas, Dr. Felina Espiave representing Luzon, Dr. Thomas Edison Dela Cruz representing Science teachers, and Dr. Garry C. Cachuela representing Math teachers as their new members.