PRSP elects new Board of Trustees

Megaworld, SM, PLDT execs take top posts

The Public Relations Society of the Philippines (PRSP), the country’s premier organization of PR and communication professionals, has recently elected its new set of Board of Trustees and Officers for 2022-2023.

Elected president was Harold C. Geronimo, APR, currently the Senior Assistant Vice President and Head of Public Relations and Media Affairs of Megaworld Corporation, and concurrently the Communications Head of Andrew Tan-led conglomerate Alliance Global Group, Inc. He previously served the PRSP Board for two terms in 2015 and 2016. He also chaired the 23rd National Public Relations Congress in 2016.

Cathy S. Ileto, APR, currently the vice president for corporate communications of SM Investments Corporation, was elected as vice president-internal, and will also be this year’s chair of the Anvil Awards. Cathy Yap-Yang, who is the first vice president and group head of corporate communications for PLDT, Inc., has been elected vice-president-external and will chair this year’s National Public Relations Congress. Cherie Mijares, APR, who is the Group Corporate Communications Director of DDB Group Philippines, was elected as board secretary and will chair the External Linkages Committee and the APR Accreditation Board. Franz G. de la Fuente, who is the Corporate Communications, Branding, and Special Projects Officer of the National Reinsurance Corporation of the Philippines, was elected Treasurer and will chair this year’s Students PR Congress. Lady Ochel C. Espinosa, Regional Insights Director for Emerging Markets, Southeast Asia of iSentia, serves as Internal Auditor.

Also elected as directors were Joji B. Banzon, Director for Special Projects and Partnerships of the Asian Institute of Management, who will also chair the organization’s Social Responsibility and Way & Means Committees; Mikey S. de Quiros, vice president for external affairs of Full Circle Communications, who will chair the Membership and Internal Communications Committee; and Ana Ruby B. Pista, founder and CEO of Ardent Communications, who will chair the Professional Development, and Marketing and Publicity Committees.

“We will be guided by the vision of ‘One PRSP’ this year. ‘One’ signifies unity among the members of the country’s ‘premier’ organization for public relations professionals. We will be one and united for truth, for innovation, and for progress. This year, we will be working together on programs to advocate ‘truth communication’ as a guiding light to the profession, advance further learning, sharing of best practices, and creating a culture of innovation in the PR profession especially among younger practitioners, and to push for the greater role of public relations and communications in nation-building,” says Geronimo.

The Board of Trustees directs and supervises the affairs and properties of the Society, exercising specific powers and obligations defined by PRSP’s by-laws. The newly elected board and officers will officially assume office on February 1, 2022, the start of the fiscal year of PRSP, for a one-year period.