Bongbong, Sara announce partial, official senatorial slate for elections

Published January 20, 2022, 10:24 AM

by Joseph Pedrajas

Presidential aspirant Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. and vice presidential candidate Sara Duterte-Carpio on Thursday released their official and partial list of senatorial slate for the upcoming elections.

They are: SAGIP partylist Rep. Rodante Marcoleta, lawyer Larry Gadon, Sen. Migz Zubiri, former Public Works and Highways secretary Mark Villar, former senator and Antique Rep. Loren Legarda, former presidential spokesman Harry Roque, former senator Jinggoy Estrada, former defense secretary Gilberto “Gibo” Teodoro, Sen. Win Gatchalian and former Quezon City Mayor Herbert Bautista.

Lawyer Vic Rodriguez, Marcos Jr.’s spokesman, said Marcos Jr. and Duterte-Carpio’s UniTeam alliance senatorial slate “represents a mixture of seasoned and proven political personalities who have excelled in their respective endeavors.”

Rodriguez said Marcoleta is UniTeam alliance’s first pick. He is currently a House Deputy Speaker and has been in the Congress since 2013.

Meanwhile, Gadon was chosen for helping Marcos Jr.’s team “for years” and for supposedly climbing the senatorial survey. He is the official Senate candidate of the Kilusang Bagong Lipunan.

“The addition of Senator Zubiri in the BBM-Sara UniTeam has bolstered the unity ticket’s already sturdy position in Mindanao, which is his family’s traditional bailiwick,” added Marcos Jr.’s camp in a statement.

Meanwhile, Villar and Gatchalian are included in the slate for consistently hugging the top 12 in the senatorial survey.

“Estrada, on the other hand, has been consistently within the ‘magic 12’ circle of senatoriables in a number of credible surveys, together with Rep. Legarda,” Marcos Jr.’s camp added.