Three Luzon dams still conducting spilling operations amid 'habagat' rains


Ipo, Ambuklao, and Binga dams continue to release water from their reservoirs on Sunday, Sept. 12, said the Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (PAGASA).

As of 7 a.m., Ipo Dam's water level rose to 100.86 meters.

"Ipo Dam management is still conducting spilling operation with one gate open 0.20 meters and a total discharge of 38.70 cms (cubic meters per second)," PAGASA said in a hydrological dam situationer.

PAGASA advised residents living along low-lying areas and near Angat river bank in Norzagaray, Angat, San Rafael, Bustos, Baliuag, Pulilan, Plaridel, Calumpit, and Hagonoy in Bulacan to remain vigilant against possible flash floods.

Ambuklao and Binga dams in Benguet have also been releasing excess water in the past few days.

Ambuklao has four gates opened at 2.0 meters.

As of 9 a.m., Ambuklao Dam's water level was at 751.45 meters, which is just 0.55 meters short of its 752.0-meter normal high water level.

Binga Dam, meanwhile, has five gates opened at 2.5 meters.

Its water level was at 574.06 meters, which is just 0.94 meters lower than its 575.0-meter normal high water level.

PAGASA warned residents in barangays Ambuklao, Bokod, Dalupirip, and Tinongdan in Benguet to remain alert against possible flooding.

The majority of water discharge from Ambuklao Dam flows into Binga Dam, which in turn, releases water to San Roque Dam in Pangasinan.

PAGASA monitored that the current water level of San Roque Dam in Pangasinan was at 264.04 meters, which is still far from its 280.0-meter normal high water level.

Typhoon Kiko (international name "Chanthu") is expected to continue to enhance the southwest monsoon or "habagat" and bring moderate to heavy rains over Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, La Union, Pangasinan, Abra, Apayao, Benguet, Ifugao, Kalinga, Mountain Province, Zambales, and Bataan in the next 24 hours.

Cloudy skies with scattered monsoon rain showers and thunderstorms may also affect Metro Manila, Laguna, Rizal, the rest of Cagayan, Isabela, Quirino, Nueva Vizcaya, Bulacan, Tarlac, Pampanga, Aurora, and Nueva Ecija.