BI ready to implement travel ban of passengers from France

The Bureau of Immigration (BI) announced that it is ready to implement the inclusion of France on the country’s Red List starting tomorrow (Dec. 10).

BI Commissioner Jaime Morente said that passengers coming from France are temporarily barred from entering the Philippines based on instructions from the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Diseases (IATF).

Also included in the ban are passengers who have been to France within 14 days preceding arrival in the country.

However, the chief chief said Filipinos wii be allowed to return via government or non-government initiated repatriation flights.

BI port operations chief Carlos Capulong stated the he ban of passengers coming from the said European country will last until Dec. 15.

The BI is presently implementing the travel ban of passengers coming from 14 other countries, namely; South Africa, Botswana, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Lesotho, Eswatini, Mozambique, Austria, Czech Republic, Hungary, The Netherlands, Switzerland, Belgium, and Italy.

Capulong warned that airlines who board passengers from travel-restricted countries will face penalties for violating the Philippine Immigration Act.