Foreign diplomats, returning Pinoys from Red List countries allowed to enter PH

Published December 7, 2021, 3:01 PM

by Jun Ramirez

The Bureau of Immigration (BI) announced on Tuesday, Dec. 7, that Filipino and foreign diplomats arriving from Red List countries are exempted from the travel ban and are allowed to enter the Philippines.

Immigration Commissioner Jaime Morente said the new policy exempting diplomats from the travel ban was adopted under a resolution issued by the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Infectious Diseases (IATF) last Nov. 25.

Morente said a letter on the subject was also conveyed by the Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA) to the BI and other government offices.

BI chief said the exemption extends also to the diplomats’ qualified dependents, such as their spouses and children, who as holders valid diplomatic or official passports.

“We have already instructed our immigration officers in the different ports, as well as foreign airlines, about these travel ban exemptions for immediate implementation,” Morente added.

Those covered by the exemption are Philippine officials and their delegations on official travel abroad, Philippine diplomats and their dependents returning to the Philippines at the end of their tour of duty, Philippine foreign service posts personnel arriving for home office consultation or with approved leave of absence.