9 grand prizes awarded at 2021 Asia Artist Awards

Published December 3, 2021, 8:20 AM

by Jonathan Hicap

The 2021 Asia Artist Awards (AAA) ceremony was held on Nov. 2 at KBS Arena in Seoul to honor outstanding performances in music and acting.

Nine “daesang,” or grand prizes, were awarded at the ceremony hosted by Super Junior’s Leeteuk and Jang Won-young.

(Clockwise from top left) “Squid Game” star Lee Jung-jae, Seventeen, Stray Kids and Aespa (AAA, Twitter)

“Asia Artist Awards is the first-ever award which selects artists from both K-Pop and K-Drama and K-Movie for the year, based on their performance who excelled in Korea as well as in Asian region,” according to the AAA website.

The grand prize winners are “Squid Game” star Lee Jung-jae who won actor of the year while Yoo Ah-in won actor of the year in the movie category and Lee Seung-gi bagged the actor of the year in the TV category.

The six grand prize winners in music are Seventeen, singer of the year; NCT 127, album of the year; BTS’ “Butter,” song of the year; Stray Kids, performance of the year; Aespa, stage of the year; and Lim Young-woong, trot of the year.

Among the winners, “Hometown Cha-Cha-Cha” star Kim Seon-ho did not attend the ceremony. He won two awards as most popular actor in two polls. He was voted as the winner of most popular actor in the U+ IDOLLIVE Popularity Award and 2021 AAA RET Popularity Award.

(Clockwise from top left) BTS, NCT 127, Yoo Ah-in and Lee Seung-gi (Twitter, AAA)

Here are the winners at the 2021 Asia Artist Awards (AAA):

Grand Prize – Actor of the Year – Lee Jung-jae

Grand Prize – Actor of the Year (movie) – Yoo Ah-in

Grand Prize – Actor of the Year (TV) – Lee Seung-gi

Grand Prize – Singer of the Year – Seventeen

Grand Prize – Album of the Year – NCT 127

Grand Prize – Song of the Year – BTS

Grand Prize – Performance of the Year – Stray Kids

Grand Prize – Stage of the Year – Aespa

Grand Prize – Trot of the Year – Lim Young-woong

History of Songs = Sandaime J Soul Brothers from EXILE TRIBE

Best Artist – GOT7’s BamBam (singer), Brave Girls (singer), ENHYPEN (singer), Jeon Yeo-bin (actor), Han So-hee (actor)

Best Achievement – NU’EST

Fabulous – Seventeen, Lee Jung-jae

Best Actor – Park Joo-mi and “Squid Game” stars Heo Sung-tae and Kim Joo-ryoung

Best Musician – Kang Daniel, ITZY, ASTRO, Wonho, The Boyz

Best Acting – Yuri, Sung Hoon, Kitamura Takumi

Scene Stealer – Cha Ji-yeon

Best Choice – Pentagon (singer), Golden Child (singer), Momoland (singer), Lee Joon-young (actor), Joo Suk-tae (actor)

Rookie of the Year – ENHYPEN (singer), Aespa (singer), Lee Do-hyun (actor)

Asia Celebrity – GOT7’s BamBam (singer), The Boyz (singer), Yoo Ah-in (actor), Vachirawit Chivaaree (actor), Metawin Opas-iamkajorn (actor)

Best Emotive – WJSN’s Chocome (singer), Kwon Eun-bi (singer), Cha Eun-woo (actor), Moon Ga-young (actor)

Hot Trend = Brave Girls (singer), Aespa (singer), Lee Jung-jae (actor)

Icon = Woodz (singer), Ryu Kyung-soo (actor)

Best Music Video – Everglow

Best Creator – Brave Brothers

Best Producer – Woozi (Seventeen)

Best OST – Lim Young-woong

New Wave – STAYC (singer), Weeekly (singer), Na In-woo (actor)

Potential = AleXa (singer), T1419 (singer), NU’EST’s Hwang Min-hyun (actor)

Focus – DKB (singer), Kingdom (singer), Blitzers (singer), Park Gun-il (actor), NCT’s Doyoung (actor)

AAA U+ Idol Live Popularity Award – BTS (singer), BLACKPINK (singer), Lim Young-woong (singer), IU (singer), Kim Seon-ho (actor), Jung Ho-yeon (actor)

AAA RET Popularity Award – EXO (singer), TWICE (singer), Lim Young-woong (singer), CL (singer), Kim Seon-ho (actor), Song Ji-hyo (actor)