DENR recognizes 'responsible' mining companies

Published December 2, 2021, 11:20 AM

by Joseph Pedrajas

The Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) has awarded several mining companies for their initiatives and achievements in environmental management and development, among other efforts, during the recent National Mine Safety and Environment Conference.

In a statement, the DENR said the awarding is in recognition of their argument that that mining activities and environmental protection can co-exist.

“These awards are not only individual accolades, but are actual testimonies that responsible mining is indeed possible and is still alive,” DENR Undersecretary for Attached Agencies, Mining and Muslim Affairs Jim Sampulna said, citing DENR Sec. Roy Cimatu’s keynote address.

Through its Mines and Geosciences Bureau (MGB), the agency honored recipients of the Presidential Mineral Industry Environmental Award (PMIEA), PMIEA Selection Committee (PMIEASC) Platinum and Titanium Achievement Awards, Best Mining Forest Contest, and Safest Mines Awards.

On top of environmental management and development, the awardees were honored for their community safety and support, workforce protection and the upkeep of socially responsible mining operations amid the ongoing pandemic.

The nine PMIEA awardees were: Agata Mining Ventures Inc., Berong Nickel Corp., Hinatuan Mining Corp.-Tagana-an, Platinum Group Metals Corp., and Taganito Mining Corp. for the Surface Mining Operation Category; Republic Cement and Building Materials Inc.-Bulacan for the Quarry Operation Category; and Coral Bay Nickel Corp., Mindanao Mineral Processing & Refining Corp., and Taganito HPAL Nickel Corp. for the Mineral Processing Category.

Twelve PMIEASC Platinum Achievement awardees and three PMIEASC Titanium Achievement Awardees were also recognized.

According to DENR, these mining companies were those that fell short in terms of required rating for the PMIEA but they attained a high degree of performance in safety and health, environmental management and social development and management.

On the other hand, DENR also gave four companies the Best Mining Forest wards for their “excellent performance of mining contractors, permit holders, and permittees in the implementation of their Mining Forest Program.”

They were Hinatuan Mining Corp.-Tagana-an (Metallic Category), Holcim Resources Development Corp. (Non-Metallic Category), Taganito HPAL Nickel Corp., (Mineral Processing Plant Category), and Philex Mining Corp. (Exploration Category).

For their successful achievement of the national campaign’s objective against occupational and environmental hazards in mining and related operations, nine companies were given the Safest Mines Awards. They were: Apex Mining Company Inc. for Safest Exploration A; Republic Cement & Building Materials, Inc.-Batangas for Safest Quarry Operation; Hinatuan Mining Corp.-Tagana-an for Safest Surface Mining Operation; Apex Mining Company Inc. for Safest Underground Mining Operation; Coral Bay Nickel Corp. for Safest Mineral Processing Extraction Plant; Graymont (Philippines) Inc. for Safest Mineral Processing Calcining Plant; Philippine Mining Service Corp.-Bohol Plant for Safest Mineral Processing Crushing Plant; Hinatuan Mining Corp.-Tagana-an for Safest Mining Operation; and Apex Mining Company Inc. for Most Improved Mining Operation.

Six safety inspectors, mine supervisors and miners who showed excellence in the promotion and application of mine safety and health in their workplace were also awarded by DENR the Mines’ Best Personalities.

They were surface miner Jennifer Inting and surface safety inspector Aldrin Resullar of Hinatuan Mining Corp.-Tagana-an; surface mine supervisor John Darwin Amag of Agata Mining Ventures Inc.; and underground safety inspector Ronnie Rojo, underground mine supervisor Johary Unggel and underground miner Marvin Badayos of Apex Mining Company Inc.