Comelec to conduct mock polls in Metro Manila, 6 provinces

Published November 29, 2021, 3:29 PM

by Leslie Ann Aquino

The Commission on Elections (Comelec) will conduct mock polls in Metro Manila and in the provinces of Isabela, Albay, Negros Oriental, Leyte, Maguindanao, and Davao del Sur on December 29 in preparation for the May 2022 polls.


Comelec Deputy Executive Director for Operations (DEDO) Teopisto Elnas revealed the areas during an online forum organized by the National Citizens Movement for Free Elections (Namfrel) on Monday, Nov. 29.

Based on the list provided by the Comelec, the mock polls will be held in the following areas:

National Capital Region (NCR):Barangays San Pedro and San Roque in Pateros; Barangays Ususan and Western Bicutan in Taguig City; and Barangays 70 and 110 in Pasay City.

Isabela: Barangays District 1 (Pob) and Minanil 1 of Cauayan City; and in Barangays Magsaysay and Gayong in Cordon.

Albay: Barangays Kawit East and Ilawod West in Legaspi City; and Barangays Banawan and Caratagan in Pioduran.

Negros Oriental: Barangays Taclobo and Balogo in Dumaguete City; and Barangays Poblacion and Mayabon in Zamboanguita.

Leyte:Barangays 6 and 6-A in Tacloban City; Barangays Pob. Zone 11 and Gaas in Baybay City; and Barangays Ipil II and San Juan in Palompon.

Maguindanao:Barangays Rosary Heights 2 and Tamontaka 1 in Cotabato City; Barangays Mother Pob and Pob 1 in Shariff Aguak; and Barangays Problacion and Dical in Buluan.

Davao del Sur:Barangays Zone 3 and San Miguel in Digos City; and Barangays Poblacion and Talas in Sulop.

In a separate press briefing, Comelec Spokesperson James Jimenez said the mock polls will involve real voters and real board of election inspectors.

“I think on Dec.1 we r going to have a meeting with the IATF to discuss the security preparation for the mock election,” he said.