Four schools defer participation in pilot face-to-face classes; DepEd releases updated list

Published November 9, 2021, 12:51 PM

by Merlina Hernando-Malipot

A total of four schools out of the 100 earlier identified by the Department of Education (DepEd) were replaced as the agency prepares for pilot implementation of limited face-to-face classes to start this month.

Tamulaya ES in Polillo Island is among the participating schools for the pilot run of limited face-to-face classes (Photo from DepEd)

In a virtual press conference on Tuesday, Nov. 9, DepEd Assistant Secretary Malcolm Garma said that there were four schools located in Regions V, IX and XI were replaced due to various reasons.

In Region V, Tiriktirikan Elementary School in Iriga City, Camarines Sur was replaced by Tiongson ES in Ligao City, Albay.

Garma said that Iriga City’s LGU has “deferred its participation in the pilot implementation of face-to-face classes.”

Cabuyuoan ES in Panganiban, Catanduanes was also replaced by Tandura ES in Ligao City, Albay because the former “was not included in the list of 329 eligible schools” from the Department of Health (DOH).

In Region IX, Garma said that Tabina CES in Tabina, Zamboanga Del Sur was replaced by Kumalarang National High School in Kumalarang, Zamboanga Del Sur.

“[The] municipality of Tabina’s LGU deferred its participation in the pilot implementation of face-to-face classes,” Garma explained.

In Region XI, the Zosimo S. Magdadaro NHS in Kiblawan, Davao Del Sur was replaced by Bares ES (Pagsabangan Extension) in Compostela Valley, Davao de Oro. “The school is a JHS under its modified curricular offering classification (COC),” Garma said.

Here’s the updated list of the participating public schools for the pilot implementation of the face-to-face classes to start on Nov. 15:

Region I

Dumalneg Elementary School
Longos Elementary School
San Isidro Elementary School
Dumalneg National High School
Cacafean Elementary School
Godogod Elementary School
Buanga Elementary School
Bicbica Primary School
Alao-ao Elementary School
Paddagan Elementary School

Region III
San Marcelino National High School
Burgos Elementary School
Owaog-Nebloc Elementary School
Moraza Elementary School
Belbel Elementary School
Maguisguis Integrated School
Nacolcol Integrated School
Palis Integrated School
Baliwet Elementary School
Banawen Elementary School

Region IV-A

Lagmak Elementary School
Lumutan Elementary School
Dinigman Elementary School
Pablo D. Maningas National High School
Tamulaya Elementary School

Region V

Sinalongan Elementary School
Gutusan Elementary School
Mary Perpetua E. Brioso National High School
Tandarura ES
Balanac Elementary School
Buenavista Elementary School
Malama Elementary School (Bagacay Extension)
Tupas Elementary School
Tiongson ES

Region VI

Mayabay Elementary School
Igsoro Integrated School
Laserna Integrated School

Region VII

Basak Elementary School
Mahanlud Elementary School
Cabagdalan Elementary School
Luyongbaybay Elementary School
Cañang-Marcelo Luna National High School
Busay National High School
Pilar National High School
Siocon Elementary School

Region VIII

Palo I Central School
Bato Central School
Dolho Elementary School
Dawo Integrated School
Macatingog Integrated School
Macawat Elementary School
Pilar National Agricultural High School
Motiong Central Elementary School
San Sebastian Central Elementary School
Clarencio Calagos Memorial School of Fisheries

Region IX

San Vicente Elementary School
Manga National High School
Manga Elementary School
Lala Elementary School
Sominot National High School
Kumalarang National High School
Guipos National High School

Region X

Dalama Central Elementary School
Babalaya Elementary School
Napo Elementary School
Masibay Integrated School
Tambacon Integrated School
Marcela T. Mabanta National High School
Bagalangit Elementary School
Ocasion Elementary School
San Francisco de Asis Elementary School
Camp 14 Elementary School

Region XI

Jacinto Elementary School – Lower Panansalan Extension
Maugat Elementary School
Manurigao Integrated School – Digaynon Extension
Maubog Elementary School – Parasan Extension
Tacub Elementary School
Nodilla Elementary School
Clib Primary School
Bares ES – Pagsabangan Extension

Region XII
Paco National High School
Bato Elementary School
Nelmida Elementary School
Ned National High School
Aspang Elementary School

Region XIII

Sapao National High School (JHS w/SHS)
Nonoc National High School
San Jose Elementary School
Cawilan National High School
Lakandula National High School
Lasicam-Perral National High School
Balite National High School
Alegria Stand Alone Senior High School
Capalayan National High School
Sugbay Elementary School
Anajawan Elementary School
Dao Primary School
Mabuhay Elementary School
Cabawa Elementary School

In the same briefing, DepEd Planning Service Director Roger Masapol explained that Regional Offices have completed the revalidation of 638 nominated pilot schools using the School Safety Assessment Tool (SSAT).

Masapol said that the ROs have “validated 329 pilot schools recommended by DOH particularly with regards to LGU concurrence and result of safety assessment.”

He noted that some LGUs have recalled concurrence due to changing COVID-risk level while some did not pass the SSAT.

Masapol said that there are also ongoing consultations to secure Free Prior Informed Consent (FPIC) for schools located in IP Communities as required by the IPRA Law.

“Many of the schools have already conducted parents’ orientation and secured parent’s consent,” Masapol explained. He added that “many schools have complied to standards of SSAT while others are working to address the gaps.”