All Souls' Day, Christmas eve, and New Year's eve still special working days in 2022

Published October 29, 2021, 5:22 PM

by Ellson Quismorio

President Duterte signed on Friday, Oct. 29 Proclamation No. 1236, which identifies the dates of regular holidays and special working and non-working days for the upcoming year of 2022.

(Behnam Norouzi/ Unsplash)


Under the directive, All Souls’ Day (Nov. 2, Wednesday), Christmas eve (Dec. 24, Saturday) and the last day of the year or New Year’s eve (Dec. 31, Saturday) next year are still considered special working days.

“For the country to recover from the adverse economic impact of the COVID-19 (coronavirus disease) pandemic, there is a need to encourage economic productivity by, among others, minimizing work disruption and commemorating some special holidays as special (working) days instead,” the proclamation read.

Meanwhile, those designated as special non-working days are the following: Chinese New Year (Feb. 1, Tuesday), EDSA People Power Revolution Anniversary (Feb. 25, Friday), Black Saturday (April 16), Ninoy Aquino Day (Aug. 21, Sunday), All Saints’ Day (Nov. 1, Tuesday), and the Feast of the Immaculate Concepcion of Mary (Dec. 8, Thursday).

The following are designated as regular holidays: New Year’s day (Jan. 1, Saturday), Araw ng Kagitingan (April 9, Saturday), Maundy Thursday (April 14), Good Friday (April 15), Labor Day (May 1, Sunday), Independence Day (June 12, Sunday) National Heroes Day (Aug. 29, Monday), Bonifacio Day (Nov. 30, Wednesday), Christmas day (Dec. 25, Sunday), and Rizal Day (Dec. 30, Friday).

“The proclamations of declaring national holidays for the observance of Eidul Fitr and Eidul Adha shall hereafter be issued after the appropriate dates of the Islamic holidays have been determined in accordance with the Islamic calendar (Hijra) or the lunar calendar, or upon Islamic astronomical calculations, whichever is possible convenient,” the Palace directive said.

“To this end, the National Commission on Muslim Filipinos shall recommend to the Office of the President the actual dates on which these holidays shall respectively fall,” it added.

“The Department of Labor and Employment (DOLE) shall promulgate the implementing guidelines for this proclamation,” it further stated.
 
CLICK HERE TO SIGN-UP
 

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE

["national","news","news"]
[2850465,2918914,2918911,2918878,2918906,2918898,2918895]